The e-resources listed on this page are provided by the University of Reading Library. For additional online resources, archives and websites go to the Websites and online archives page in this guide.
Search Summon to find online journal articles and book chapters.
Biographies of more than 19,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the American nation.
Archives Unbound contains more than 250 collections covering: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBTQ studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.
References to published materials in the arts and humanities including journal articles, letters, editorials and reviews.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Arts & Humanities Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
International Historical Statistics is a large collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. The collection includes data on the Americas and Europe, but also hard-to-find data on Africa, Asia and Oceania.
Mass Observation Online gives an insight into everyday life in Britain from 1937 until the mid-1950s. It contains original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
Covering women’s writing in the British Isles from its beginnings to the present day, Orlando provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies.
Biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000.
This resource provides materials on feminism (covering the period 1776-1928) published by Taylor & Francis. It includes primary and secondary sources, such as full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as thematic essays.
Gives references to journal articles in the social sciences.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Social Sciences Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
Use to search across a number of databases covering a range of subject areas. Provides references to journal articles, books, conference papers, patents, research data and other materials.
In addition to the resources listed here, LGBTQIA+ topics are covered in a wide range of other video, image and sound resources, see our list of individual collections for more details.
For guidance on how to use our multimedia e-resources, see: Finding video, image and sound resources
Video material including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programmes and newsreels covering a variety of events and themes.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a collection of TV and radio programmes from free-to-air channels. Set new recordings and playback programmes already recorded. Content back to 1990s.
A freely available database of over 50,000 sound recordings from the British Library Sound Archive.
Mass Observation Online gives an insight into everyday life in Britain from 1937 until the mid-1950s. It contains original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
Search across Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 to find full colour digitised versions of the originals.
Newspapers can be a good source for the latest developments in a field and for current opinion on emerging and established topics or issues.
We have online access to a number of current and archive newspaper issues, see the list below for examples.
This resource has been replaced. Please see Gale Primary Sources for the new product.
The Guardian is a British daily newspaper covering the latest news, sport, business, comment and analysis. Includes print and online content. Covers 1984 to the present day.
Full-text of over many local, regional and national newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper.
Archive of this important British newspaper. Covers 1855-2016. Includes The Sunday Telegraph from 1961.
Online access to features, articles and other information published in The Times. Covers 1985 to the present day.
For further information and links go to our Finding newspapers guide:
If you are on campus you will be able to access most e-journals and e-books, and some databases, without entering a username and password because your IP address identifies you as being at the University of Reading.
For any that require a login, see the Off-campus tab.
When you use our e-resources you are agreeing to our Terms of Use. Please take a moment to look at these by following the link below:
When you are off-campus you will need to login to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals.
Your login details
You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. ab123456@student.reading.ac.uk) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication. For more information see:
Getting to the login page...
Watch this short video on how you login to use Library resources.
This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.