Agriculture, policy and development: Key resources

It is unclear which publishers are included in Google Scholar, so it shouldn't be used as your only source for a comprehensive literature search. For references to reliable, academic sources search our Summon discovery service or databases covering your subject.

Link to our full-text
You can set your preferences on Google Scholar to show links to full-text articles in all of our e-journals.

1) Click on the three lines on the top left of the home screen.
2) Select 'Settings'.
3) Select 'Library Links' on the left of the screen.
4) In the search box type 'Reading' and select the 'Reading University Library - Full-Text @ Reading' option.
5) Save your settings.

When you do a search, look for a 'Full-Text @ Reading' link to the right of references in your results list. This indicates that we have a subscription which will give you access to the article. Click on this link to access the full-text.

If the 'Full-text @ Reading' link does not appear next to a reference it indicates that it isn't covered by our subscriptions and you probably won't be able to access the article.

If you are off-campus you will need to login to access the articles. You will usually be prompted to login as soon as you click on the link to the article. If this doesn't happen you will need to look for an institutional or Shibboleth login link once you reach the journal's website. For more guidance see Accessing e-journals.

Google Scholar Button
Google have produced a plugin for Chrome, Firefox and Safari which allows you to easily search for and cite articles. Highlight the title of an article in the page you are reading and then click the Scholar button and it will search for the article on Google Scholar in a pop up window. To get a formatted reference for a search result press the quote button next to it and the reference will appear in three different styles.

To make the most of this tool set up the University of Reading as a 'Library Link' using the instructions above.

Covering sciences, economic and social science, and some arts and humanities titles.

We also have access to older articles from 1896 onwards in the following subjects:

-agricultural and biological sciences
-economics, econometrics and finance
-environmental science
-social sciences

Help and guidance
ScienceDirect help

Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.

It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.

Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:

-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history

Help and guidance
Scopus Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
Tutorial of creating alerts
Scopus learn & support site

Web of Science gives access to a range of databases which can be searched individually or simultaneously:

-BIOSIS Previews - biological sciences
-Current Contents Connect
-Data Citation Index - research data from international repositories
-Derwent Innovations Index - patents in engineering
-FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts) 
-Medline - biomedical sciences
-Web of Science Core Collection - made up of the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Citation Indexes, plus a number of other databases

The cross-search also includes open access journals and open archive repositories.

Also available via Web of Science:

-JCR (Journal Citation Reports) 

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal

CAB Abstracts covers the following subjects:
- Agricultural and environmental economics
- Agricultural engineering
- Animal production
- Biodeterioration and biodegradation
- Biotechnology
- Crop protection
- Dairy science and technology
- Forestry, forest products and agroforestry
- Human nutrition
- Leisure, recreation and tourism
- Medical and veterinary parasitology
- Natural resources and environmental issues
- Plant breeding, crop production and horticulture
- Soil science, land/water management and fertilizer technology
- Rural development
- Veterinary medicine

Gives references to journal articles, books and book chapters, conference papers, theses, patents and standards.

Covers 1910- (most of the early coverage is purely agriculture-related).

We also have access to CAB Abstracts on CAB Direct.

Coverage includes: accounting; banking; finance; international business; management; marketing; real estate; regional studies; sales; trade; and technology.

To see a list of the full-text journals select the Title list option from the EBSCOhost home page. Also includes references to articles in many other journals.

Also includes: books/monographs; case studies; conference proceedings; country economic reports; over 5,000 company records; industry reports; market research reports; SWOT analysis; and working papers.

Covers 1886-

Help and guidance
EBSCOhost Advanced Search Help
Viewing results in EBSCOhost
Basic search video tutorial
Advanced search video tutorial

The Agricultural Census is conducted in June each year by the government departments dealing with Agriculture and Rural Affairs for Scotland, England, and Wales. Each farmer declares the agricultural activity on the land via a postal questionnaire. The respective government departments collect the 150 items of data and publish information relating to farm holdings for recognised geographies.

Dates covered:
England and Wales: 1969-1997
England: 2000-
Wales: 2000-
Scotland: 1969-

Help for agCensus

Covers 1969-

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal

Covers company information including financial data and background industry information.

Help and guidance
D&B Hoovers Getting Started Guide

Covers food science, technology and nutrition including:

-food additives
-biotechnology
-food safety
-food science
-functional and novel foods
-nutrition
-packaging

Patent coverage includes European and World (PCT) patents and individual country patents from 17 major countries.

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal

Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Gives references to journal articles (a few are available in full-text). Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles.

Help and guidance
Help with searching GreenFILE on EBSCO

Mintel Reports is a database of consumer and market research reports.

It covers UK, European and international consumer markets, focusing on market trends, opportunities, risks, and product and brand innovation.

There are daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity keeping on top of current trends in the marketplace.

Help and guidance
Once logged into the site, click on 'Welcome' and 'Help & Training' for comprehensive guidance.

Passport is a global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. It can be used to find statistics and reports for:

- Company analysis
- Consumer and household profiling
- Country profiling
- Industry analysis
- Lifestyle analysis
- Modelling and forecasting
- Trend monitoring

Help and guidance
Once connected click on the 'Help' link for videos, FAQs and other types of guidance.

Also included are reports, infographics, revenue forecasts on over 400 industries, and a glossary of statistical terms.

Help and guidance
Statista Help & FAQs

International statistics on:

-agricultural machinery
-Codex Alimentarius food quality control
-exports by destination
-fertilizer and pesticides
-food aid shipments
-food balance sheets
-forest and fishery products
-Forestry trade
-land use and irrigation
-population
-producer prices
-production
-trade