Skip to main content

Architecture: Journal articles

A guide to finding information in architecture. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

Journal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:

  • up-to-date research in your subject
  • reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references

Finding journal articles

Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.

Search Summon:


Search databases covering your subject

Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.

Key databases for finding journal articles

Selected journals

We subscribe to a wide range of journals in Architecture these are just a few of the titles. To see a more comprehensive list of our e-journals in this area see the E-journals Finder.

Search the Enterprise catalogue to find out if we have a specific journal (in print or online).

Search Summon (using the search box at the top of this page) to find articles published in all our online journals.

Architecture today 

Detail

El Croquis

RIBA journal (incomplete print holdings of this and previous title from 1895 to 20012 at PERIODICAL FOLIO--720.5

 

Architecture journals

Help!

If you are having difficulties accessing articles via Summon or one of our databases see the links below.

If there is a problem with a Library e-resource please fill in a problem report form.

Video: finding a journal article from a reference

This video will show you how to find out if the Library has access to a specific article - online or in print.

Video: discovering online articles and chapters with Summon

Getting articles not held at Reading

Our Inter-Library Loans service can get articles not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).

For more information see our pages on requesting inter-library loans.