Journal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:
Finding journal articles
Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.
Search databases covering your subject
Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.
Subject specific databases
The following may include the full text of the articles or just provide the reference to articles on a particular topic.
Our Inter-Library Loans service can get articles not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).
For more information see our webpages:
This video will show you how to find out if the Library has access to a specific article - online or in print.
A. D. Ames, "Human-Inspired Control of Bipedal Walking Robots," Automatic Control, IEEE Transactions on, vol. 59, pp. 1115-1130, 2014.
If you are having difficulties accessing articles via Summon or one of our databases see the links below.
If there is a problem with a Library e-resource please fill in a problem report form.
If you are off-campus you will need to login to view the full-text of any of your results. Once viewing your results click on the Sign-in option at the top of the screen, select 'Other institution login', search for 'Reading' and login using your University username and password.