LibGuides: The Learning Hub: Websites & Online Resources

There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below. See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!

General Topics

This section includes resources on the topic of inclusion, including resources relating to supporting vulnerable and disadvantaged groups of pupils.

Disadvantaged Children (General)

DfE - Education of disadvantaged children
RSS feed detailing government action regarding the education of disadvantaged children.
DfE - Unseen children: educational access and achievement 20 years on
2013 Ofsted survey report reviewing the pattern of disadvantage and educational success across England.
EEF - Teaching and Learning Toolkit
The Sutton Trust-Education Endowment Foundation Teaching and Learning Toolkit is an accessible summary of educational research. It provides guidance for teachers and schools on how to use their resources to improve attainment for 5-16 year-olds, particularly for disadvantaged pupils.
National Education Trust
The National Education trust aims to address the needs of vulnerable learners and challenge ‘the achievement gap'.

Anti-racism and Racial Justice

Anti-Racism Charter
The National Education Union's Anti-racism Charter is a framework designed to help explore ideas around race equality and plan how to tackle racism with children, young people and staff.
The Travellers' Times
News, pictures, films, features & information from and for Gypsy, Roma and Traveller communities. Magazine available in the Learning Hub.
Gypsy, Roma and Traveller pupils: improving educational outcomes
2010 study looking at issues that Gypsy, Roma and Traveller pupils face and how to improve their educational outcomes.
Literacy Trust - Promoting Diversity through Literacy
Recommendations to increase the diversity of literacy texts in the classroom
Show Racism the Red Card
The Black Curriculum
An organisation working to increase the amount of Black British history taught in schools.

Refugee Children

Amnesty International - 8 educational resources to better understand the refugee crisis
A list of educational resources that explain the rights of refugees recommended by Amnesty International's global human rights education network. (2015)
NEU - Welcoming Refugee Children to Your School

This section includes links on ensuring the safety of children, including issues relating to safeguarding, tackling extremism, and e-safety. For information on challenging bullying, please see the section on behaviour.

Safeguarding and Extremism

DfE - Safeguarding Children
Statutory guidance for schools and colleges on safeguarding children. Including ' Keeping children safe in education' document.
DfE - The Prevent Duty
This is departmental advice from the Department for Education. This advice is non statutory, and has been produced to help recipients understand the implications of the Prevent duty.
Educate Against Hate
This site, created by the DfE and Home Office, aims to provide practical advice and support to help all individuals with an interest in keeping children safe from the dangers of extremism.
NSPCC - Safeguarding Children
Guidance on what organisations need to do to protect children from harm.

E-safety

DfE - Teaching Online Safety in Schools
Guidance supporting schools to teach their pupils how to stay safe online, within new and existing school subjects.
NSPCC - E-Safety for Schools
Information and resources regarding e-safety in schools from the NSPCC
ThinkUKnow - Information for Professionals
ThinkUKnow is a resource created by CEOP (Child Exploitation and Online Protection) to assist teachers in educating young people about online safety.

Mental Health and Resilience

DfE - Children and young people’s mental health —the role of education
First Joint Report of the Education and Health Committees of Session 2016–17. Looks at well being in schools and colleges, mental health support in education providers and the impact of social media.
DfE - Mental health and behaviour in schools
Guidance on how to identify and support pupils whose behaviour suggests they may have unmet mental health needs.
DfH - Children’s mental health: new online resources for adults
Article outlining why adults should talk to children and young people about mental health and introduces new online resources.
PSHE Association - Guidance on preparing to teach about mental health and emotional well-being
Guidance and lessons plans for schools on preparing to teach about mental health and emotional well-being.
Anna Freud - National Centre for Children and Families
Resources for Schools related to mental health and resilience.
NCB - Partnership for Well-being and Mental Health in Schools
Guidance for schools on 'what works' in promoting social and emotional well-being and a whole school framework for emotional well-being and mental health.
Young Minds
The Young Minds resources library provides toolkits, publications, reports and policy information about children and young people's mental health.

Resources for challenging bullying, managing behaviour and others.

Challenging Bullying

Anti-Bullying Alliance
Advice and resources for tackling bullying.
Bullying UK
Advice and resources for tackling bullying.
DfE - Preventing bullying
Guidance for schools on preventing and responding to bullying.
Kidscape
Advice and resources on bullying.
NSPCC
Resources and guidance for teachers and schools to prevent and respond to bullying.
Ofsted - No Place for Bullying
A report from 2012 identifying strategies that have helped schools prevent and tackle bullying.
Stonewall
Resources and advice for teachers and education professionals to help tackle homophobia, biphobia and transphobia in schools and colleges.
Stop Speak Support
Stop, Speak, Support aims to help young people spot cyberbullying and know what steps they can take to stop it happening and provide support to the person being bullied.
Videos Exploring Bullying
Videos from the Teacher's TV archive to support work challenging bullying.

Managing Behaviour

Behaviour2Learn - Developing positive classrooms
Archive of YouTube videos on behaviour management.
DfE - Behaviour and discipline in schools
Guidance for school leaders and staff on developing a school behaviour policy, and a checklist of actions to take to encourage good behaviour.
DfE - Getting the Simple Things Right - Charlie Taylor’s Behaviour Checklist
Charlie Taylor, the Government’s Expert Adviser on behaviour in schools, advises schools on simple techniques to promote excellent behaviour and discipline in the classroom.
DfE - Mental health and behaviour in schools
Guidance on how to identify and support pupils whose behaviour suggests they may have unmet mental health needs.
DfE - Pupil well-being, behaviour and attendance
Advice and guidance for governing bodies, headteachers, school staff and parents, on behaviour and discipline in schools.
Osiris Education - Dr Bill Rodgers Behaviour Management Videos
A YouTube Playlist of behaviour management videos.
Teachers TV Archive - Behaviour Management Videos

This section includes resources on the topic of Climate Education.

Education Nature Park
Free resources for schools commissioned by the Department for Education
Ministry of Eco
Organisation putting together a curriculum for KS1 and 2 using materials developed by environmental organisations across the UK
Reading Climate Action Network - Climate Activity Pack
This climate activity pack has been created by the University of Reading in collaboration with local community groups who have a shared passion in tackling climate change.
Reading Climate Action Network School Resources
Reading International Solidarity Centre
Resources for teaching Global Citizenship. RISC also offer workshops and training. They are based on London Street, Reading.
Royal Meteorological Society - Teaching Resources
Teaching resources from the British learned and professional society for weather and climate.
UNESCO - Education for Climate Action

This section contains resources on a theme of English as an Additional Language

British Council - EAL Nexus
Guidance and free resources for teaching staff to help support EAL learners
Centre for Literacy and Multilingualism (CeLM)
CeLM brings together a multidisciplinary group of researchers broadly interested in language, literacy and multilingualism.
DfE - Aiming high: meeting the needs of newly arrived learners of English as an additional language
Materials supporting schools working with newly arrived isolated learners of English as an additional language.
DfE - Developing quality tuition: effective practice in schools - English as an additional language
Useful information on how to provide quality provision for pupils learning English as an additional language.
DfE - Helping children and families use English as an additional language
Ofsted good practice example showing how Ravensthorpe Community Childcare helps children and families with English as an additional language.
DfE - Learning and teaching for bilingual children in the primary years: guided sessions to support writing English as an additional language
A pack for children in years 2 to 6, addressing the needs of advanced English as an additional language learners in developing writing.
EAL Teaching Strategies
A range of EAL teaching strategies and resources.
NALDIC
The National Subject Association for EAL

This section contains links specifically relating to Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND)

Archived DfE advanced training modules for teachers of learners with SEND
Advanced training materials for autism; dyslexia; speech, language and communication; emotional, social and behavioural difficulties; moderate learning difficulties.
Archived DfE Training modules for teachers of learners with SEND
Training materials for teachers of learners with severe, profound and complex learning difficulties
ASE's guide to Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND)
Advice, strategies and support from Association for Science Education.
Autism Data
The National Autistic Society's free online database of published materials on autism.
Centre for Studies on Inclusive Education (CSIE)
Offers free online access to some of its publications. Also provides links to other organisations concerned with inclusion as well as statistical information on inclusive education.
DfE - SEND code of practice
Guidance on the special educational needs and disability (SEND) system for children and young people aged 0 to 25,
DfE - Special educational needs and disability (SEND) and high needs
Information, advice and materials for teachers, parents and others caring for or working with disabled children and young people or those with SEN in England.
NASEN Guide to the SEND Code of Practice
Advice from the National Association for SEN on the SEND Code of Practice.
National Association for Special Educational Needs (NASEN)
Links provided to other useful sites, information on news and events, full text of press releases.
SEND Gateway
An online portal offering education professionals free, easy access to high quality information, resources and training for meeting the needs of children with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND).
SEND videos
Videos from Teachers TV archive.
Signature
UK body promoting excellence in communication with deaf and deafblind people. (Formerly Council for the Advancement of Communication with Deaf People). Offers nationally recognised qualifications, including in deaf awareness and British Sign Language (BSL). Buy publications from their shop or register for their online BSL homework service to practice and test yourself in BSL. The first unit and online dictionary is free.

This section contains online resources relating to accurate and productive use of assessments.

Department for Education - Data, research and statistics
Official statistics from the Department for Education.
DfE - Primary school pupil assessment: Rochford Review recommendations
Summary of responses to consultation, along with the government’s response outlining the next steps.
DfE - School performance measures
Includes: Performance tables: approved qualifications, discount codes, interpreting data. Primary school accountability, Progress 8 and Attainment 8.
DfE - Standards & Testing Agency
News and statistics on assessment in education.
NFER - Our work in assessment
World renowned test development and assessment research, and assessment products for schools.

This section includes resources for preparing children for adult life. This includes resources relating to careers, apprenticeships, higher education, work experience and skill development.

Careers

DfE - Careers guidance provision for young people in schools
Statutory guidance for schools on providing careers guidance and inspiration.
My Big Career
My Big Career provide free one-to-one career guidance to young people from disadvantaged backgrounds.
National Careers Service
Information, advice and guidance to help make decisions on learning, training and work.
Prospects - Job Profiles
Browse job profiles or take the Prospects Career Quiz.
Quality in Careers Standard
The Quality in Careers Standard is the national CEIAG quality award.
Start - Careers Platform
Start is a free, online careers platform, designed to connect 11-18 year olds with their future career potential.
UCAS - Careers Guidance
Careers information and guidance in schools, how it is delivered and where you can go for more information.

Work Experience and Voluntary Work

Army Cadets
Challenges young people over the age of 12 to become more independent, confident and able to step up to any challenge.
DfE- 16 to 19 study programmes: work experience
Guidance on post-16 work experience for education and training providers.
The Duke of Edinburgh Award
The DofE is the world's leading youth achievement award.
National Citizen Service
National Citizen Service (NCS) is open to all 16 and 17-year-olds in England. NCS brings together young people from different backgrounds and helps them develop greater confidence, self-awareness and responsibility.

Apprenticeships

DfE - Apprenticeships
Guidance and information on apprenticeships from the Department for Education.
UCAS - Apprenticeships
Advice and information from UCAS on apprenticeships.

University Study

The Complete University Guide
Helps students research degree courses, universities and colleges, accommodation, and careers.
UCAS - Thinking About University
Advice on different options and guidance on how to make an application.

AcademicInfo - Education
One of a series of subject information gateways forming part of Academic Info, a directory of Internet resources tailored to a higher education audience. Each subject guide is an annotated listing of the best general Internet sites in the field, as well as a gateway to more advanced research tools. Includes links to online publications, language and study aids, reference materials, database archives, virtual libraries, tutorials, as well as other educational materials. Compiled in the United States.
BAMEed Network
The BAMEed Network is a movement initiated in response to the continual call for intersectionality and diversity in the education sector. They exist to connect, enable and showcase the talent of diverse educators.
National College for Teaching & Leadership
Supports continuing professional and leadership development, and school improvement. The agency was formed from the merger of the National College for School Leadership and the Teaching Agency in April 2013.

Curriculum and Policy

Education Development Trust
A leading authority on school improvement and school inspection with expertise in supporting the teaching of English and other languages.
Department for Education
Provides detailed coverage of major government initiatives and reports in Education.
Digital Education Resource Archive (DERA)
UCL / Institute of Education's digital archive of education-related documents by government and related bodies.
Education England
Derek Gillard's website providing original source material and comment on the history of England's school system.
EYFS Framework
Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage.
Institute of Education Gateways and Portals
Some useful links to online resources relevant to Education available on the Internet.
National College for Teaching & Leadership
Supports continuing professional and leadership development, and school improvement. The agency was formed from the merger of the National College for School Leadership and the Teaching Agency in April 2013.
National Curriculum
The national curriculum sets out the programmes of study and attainment targets for all subjects at all 4 key stages.
Nuffield Foundation Curriculum Projects
Information on curriculum research and development from the Nuffield Foundation.
Ofsted
The Office for Standards in Education (OFSTED) is officially the Office of Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Schools in England. This site provides summaries of recent inspections.
Structure of European education systems
Online version of:
European Commission/EACEA/Eurydice, 2020. The Structure of the European Education Systems
2020/21: Schematic Diagrams. Eurydice Facts and Figures. Luxembourg: Publications Office of
the European Union.

General Teaching and Learning Resources

AcademicInfo - Education
One of a series of subject information gateways forming part of Academic Info, a directory of Internet resources tailored to a higher education audience. Each subject guide is an annotated listing of the best general Internet sites in the field, as well as a gateway to more advanced research tools. Includes links to online publications, language and study aids, reference materials, database archives, virtual libraries, tutorials, as well as other educational materials. Compiled in the United States.
BBC Bitesize
A collection of BBC video clips for use in the classroom - browse by school level, subject and topic.
CLA Education Platform
(Requires individual schools to sign up to it) This platform will provide digital photocopies of up to 5% any textbook already owned by a school with a CLA Education license, for use in line with copyright legislation. (always free)
DK Findout
Free lesson plan ideas for teachers and resources for parents, as well as videos and interactive modules on a variety of subjects. (Always free - no registration required)
Guide to free research resources
A guide to free and Open Access resources available to students, alumni and the public.
ICT Games
Educational games aimed at KS1 and linked to the National Curriculum for Literacy and Numeracy.
MERL School Resources
Free resources for schools on a wide range of curriculum areas relating back to English Country Life
South East Grid for Learning
Teaching and Learning resources from SEGfL and the NEN- the Education Network. Some of the resources are free for all schools to use, others are licensed to SEGfL schools as part of their membership.
Teacher's Pet
Free classroom display resources, activities and games.
Teach it Primary
Teaching resources for all Primary subjects. Resources are free but you need to create an account to access them.
TES Resources
Lesson resources for all subjects and stages. Made by teachers for teachers. Some resources are free but you need to register to download them.
Top Marks
A collection of educational websites and resources for children, teaching professionals and parents.

Core Subjects

The Centre for Literacy in Primary Education
A charity working with those involved in teaching literacy in primary schools. Website includes some free resources and useful lists of recommended books for various themes.
Authorfy
Videos of authors reading Children's books (Always freely available)
British Library - Discovering Children's Books
British Library Online resources for Childrens books. Includes a variety of activities. (Always freely available)
DfE - Improving literacy in secondary schools: a shared responsibility
2013 Ofsted survey report examining what works best in secondary schools to improve literacy across the curriculum.
Drama Resource
Includes some free resources and useful material for CPD. Also provides good descriptions of key drama strategies such as Conscience Alley and Freeze Frames.
Letters and Sounds
PDF copy of the Letters and Sounds pack. Outlines an approach for practitioners and teachers to help children with word reading skills and spelling.
The National Association for the Teaching of English (NATE)
A subject association for English teachers.
National Literacy Trust
An independent charity working with schools and communities to give disadvantaged children the literacy skills to succeed in life. Website offers evidence-based resources, research and programmes.
Oxford Owl
Free Ebooks for children ages 3-11 (Always free)
UK Literacy Association
News and resources for literacy education.
World Book Day
Fun activities based around reading and children's books. Free audio books available
Young Writers' Programme - NaNoWriMo
The Young Writers' Programme of National Novel-Writing Month includes a variety of resources for writing long form stories over longer periods. (Always freely available)

The Association of Teachers of Mathematics (ATM)
A subject association for mathematics teachers.
Khan Academy
A wide range of video tutorials: choose from the Subject drop-down list.
Maths Chase
A simple game for practising and testing times tables.
Maths Through Stories
An international research-based initiative, which sets out to explore various aspects of integrating stories and literacy in mathematics instruction. Includes lesson plans, recommendations and book reviews.
Millennium Maths Project
A maths education and outreach initiative for ages 3 to 19 based at the University of Cambridge.
National Centre for Excellence in the Teaching of Mathematics
Resources, guidance and CPD opportunities for teaching mathematics at all levels. Includes a National Curriculum Resource Tool and subject magazines. Requires (free) registration to access resources.
NRICH
Activities, resources and articles for enriching mathematics lessons.
Oxford Owl Maths Activities
Maths games and activities for children age 3-11 (always free)
Plus Magazine
A free online magazine highlighting the practical applications of mathematics. Plus is part of the Millennium Mathematics Project based in Cambridge.

The Association for Science Education
A professional learning community that supports all those involved in science education.
Frontiers for Young Minds
Free collection of science-related material (always free)
National Geographic Kids
Quizzes, activities and homework help (always free)
Natural History Museum - Virtual Tours
Go on a virtual tour of the Natural History Museum!
Primary Science Teaching Trust
The PSTT facilitate the development and dissemination of excellence in primary science. Their page includes news, support and resources for teachers.
The Royal Society - resources for teachers
An independent scientific academy dedicated to promoting excellence in science. This page includes resources for teachers, many of which focus on hands-on activities and experimental work.
School Science
Resources and news for science education from the ASE. Provides links to a number of useful resources.
The Science Teacher
Free science resources for KS3+
STEM Learning
News and resources to support teaching of STEM subjects. Includes resources by AstraZeneca Science Teaching Trust
University of Reading - Partnering for the Planet
A range of resources produced by the University of Reading around Climate Change, including resources on Climate Education

Foundation Subjects

Google Arts and Culture
Allows you to explore artworks and collections from around the world.
National Art Education Association
A professional membership organization for visual arts educators.
National Gallery, UK
Resources and training related to the gallery collections, including the 'Take One Picture' scheme which focuses on a painting from the collection to inspire cross-curricular work in primary classrooms.
National Gallery of Art, USA
Provides a variety of resources and programs to teachers to foster understanding and a lifelong connection to art.
National Society for Education in Art & Design
Subject association for those involved in art, craft and design across all phases of education.
Nuffield Primary Design and Technology
A collection of resources for design and technology at Key Stage One and Key Stage Two.
Design and Technology Association
A membership organisation providing advice, support and training for those involved in teaching design, engineering and technology

This section is under construction

Barefoot Computing
Barefoot Computing provide a range of free workshops, guides and resources for teaching Primary Computing.
BBC - Make it Digital
Carnegie Mellon University - Computer Science Academy
Interactive computer science curriculum for KS3 and secondary school ages (always free)
Code Academy
A useful resource for learning how to code. Some sections are free.
Code Hero
A game making game that teaches you how to make games that teach.
Computer Science for Fun
A free online magazine on computer science aimed at school students.
Computing at School
Subject Association for computing teachers.
Computing ITT & CPD
A collection of resources put together by a small group of teachers and teacher educators convened by the DfE's Teaching Agency.
Hello World
A free magazine for computing and digital making educators. A Physical copy is also available in the Hub.
Invent with Python
A range of free, downloadable eBooks on computer programming.
Micro:bit Educational Foundation
A free educational platform to help learn the basics of Micro:bit
Nuffield - Working with Computers at Key Stages One and Two
This collection includes four trial units of work developed by the Nuffield Foundation.
Scratch
A programming resource for learners of all ages. Students can use Scratch to code their own interactive stories, animations, and games.
Typing.com
Typing skills, digital literacy, and coding lessons for all ages
Teach Computing Curriculum
A freely available computing curriculum for KS1-KS4, created by the National Centre for Computing Education.

Into Film - Film in Education
Free resources for film studies.

Association for Language Learning
A subject association for teachers of foreign languages
eSpanish
Spanish A-Level Resources for the new AQA Specification created by Glenn Smith, Head of Spanish at a large independent school in Essex.
Language Resources
Resources and games for French, German and Spanish teachers.
Teach It - languages
French, Spanish and German teaching resources for KS3+
UCL IOE Programme of Study for Chinese Mandarin
A Programme of Study and resources to assist primary school teachers to introduce and teach Mandarin Chinese in the classroom.

The Geographical Association (GA)
A subject association for teachers of Geography.
Google Earth
Digital Globe created by Google (always free)
Kids World Travel Guide
A world travel guide for kids, researched thoroughly by parents and children who love to travel.
National Geographic Kids
Quizzes, activities and homework help (always free)
Royal Geography Society - Teaching Resources
Geographical learning and teaching resources for all key stages.
Teach it Geography
Geography resources for KS3+. Resources are free but you need to create an account to access them.
University of Reading - Partnering for the Planet
A range of resources produced by the University of Reading around Climate Change, including resources on Climate Education

BBC School Radio - History
A range of primary history audio resources that link to Key Stage 2 History topics including World War 2, Britain since the 1930s, the Tudors and the Victorians.
Cargo Movement
Freely available digital learning resources for KS3 History, about individuals of African or African Diaspora descent.
Facing History
Resources for teaching history with a focus on racism, prejudice, and antisemitism.
The Historical Association
A subject association, 'support the teaching, learning and enjoyment of history at all levels.'
Meanwhile Elsewhere
Blog edited by IoE History staff. (Always free)
The National Archive - Education Service
Provides a variety of online resources for all key stages for teaching different time periods
Teaching History with 100 Objects
One hundred objects from museums across the UK with resources, information and teaching ideas to inspire your students’ interest in history.
Teach It - History
History teaching resources for KS3+

Incorporated Society of Musicians
The UK’s professional body for musicians
ISM - The National Curriculum for Music
An assessment and progression framework from ISM.
Musical Futures
Musical Futures supports primary and secondary schools to transform their music teaching. There website has a selection of free resources.
Music Education Council
The UK's umbrella body for all organisations and individuals involved with music education.
Music Education UK
An online platform connecting the whole music education community.

AQA - Physical Education
Resources for planning, teaching and assessing G.C.S.E P.E.
Association for Physical Education
The PE Subject Association.
BBC School Radio - Dance Resources
Three co-ordinated series that provide a comprehensive Dance resource for KS1 and KS2 PE lessons.
P.E. 4 Learning
Free Physical Education Teaching Ideas and Resources
P.E. Resources Bank
Some free resources from P.E. Resources Bank.
P.E. Scholar
A free community website for sharing P.E. resources, lesson plans, articles and blogs.
School Games
The School Games, which is funded by Sport England and delivered by the Youth Sport Trust, is a government led programme designed to deliver competitive school sport to all young people.

From September 2020, RSE and RSHE will be statutory in all schools.

AQA - Citizenship and P.S.H.E.
Free resources for teaching G.C.S.E. Citizenship and P.S.H.E.
Association for Citizenship Teaching
The subject association for Citizenship representing teachers and others involved in Citizenship education.
British Red Cross
Free resources for citizenship and PSHE teaching.
Global Citizenship in the Classroom
PDF document from Oxfam with lots of great ideas for teaching Global Citizenship.
P.S.H.E. Association
A subject association for those teaching P.S.H.E.
Reading International Solidarity Centre
Resources for teaching Global Citizenship. RISC also offer workshops and training. They are based on London Street, Reading.

The National Association of Teachers of Religious Education (NATRE)
The subject teacher association for RE professionals.
R.E. Online
Resources and subject support for R.E.