LibGuides: UoRM Business, management & finance: Websites

Key websites

This page lists useful, free internet resources for management and accounting. See the E-resources tab for a list of key online sources purchased by the University to help you find information in this subject.

Please note: our site descriptions are based on information available on the site described at the time it was evaluated.

Business Information Sources
A gateway maintained by Karen Blakeman at RBA Information Services. It is a selective and searchable guide to business information on the Internet with a European bias.

General management related sites

Business.com
Business.com is a directory and search engine that focuses exclusively on business resources. The site includes company and industry profiles, business news as well as links to business-orientated web sites.
GlobalEDGE
GlobalEDGE is a global business web portal created by the Centre for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University. The site includes a collection of links to research materials, news, periodicals and trade information. It also offers a wealth of information on more than 180 countries including outlines of their political structure, economic climate, history and statistical data.
Management and business studies portal
This is a subject portal provided by the British Library. It aims to help you find and use high quality management research publications quickly and easily. It has research reports, summaries, briefings, working papers, conference papers and articles. You will need to register to access some of the features.

Country information

CIA world factbook
A useful site prepared by the CIA, which gives basic economic and political information about countries around the world.
US Department of State
This American government site offers information on commercial and economic affairs, overseas opportunities and links to other sites. Particularly useful are the Background Notes which include detailed information on countries, including country's history, political conditions, economy and relations with other country.

Market research information

Public domain
Market research reports are a valuable source of information about different markets sectors. Generally research reports are very expensive and the Internet provides limited access to such information. Have a look at our market research databases under the E-resources tab, but the following free resources can also provide a good starting point:

Keynote Market Information Centre
Keynote is a supplier of market research reports covering a wide range of consumer, business and industry sectors. Freely available are the executive summaries and contents pages of the reports.

Organisations and institutions

Open access journals

Asian Journal of Business and Accounting (AJBA)
An international refereed journal, published twice a year by Universiti Malaya. Covers a broad spectrum of business and accounting areas and its sub-areas.
Journal of Islamic Banking and Finance
The aim of the journal is to be the leading outlet for the best research in Islamic banking and finance. Published Semi-annually (2 issues per year).
Journal of Islamic Finance (JIF)
A publication from International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM). It covers topics on Islamic banking, Islamic capital markets, Islamic wealth management, issues on Shari’ah implementation and practices of Islamic banking, zakat, waqf, takaful and comparative analysis of Islamic and conventional financial institutions. The journal is published biannually in June and December.
The Journal of Muamalat and Islamic Finance Research (JMIFR)
A publication from Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM). It covers topics on Muamalat, Islamic Economics, Finance, Banking and its related fields. The journal is published published biannually in June and December.
Malaysian Business Management Journal (MBMJ)
A refereed, open-access academic journal with the objective of providing a forum for the dissemination of theory and research in all areas of business, management, and organizational decisions.
Malaysian Journal of Business, Economics and Management (MJBEM)
A leading academic journal that publishes high-quality, original research articles and reviews on a wide range of topics related to business, economics, and management. Published biannually in June and December.
Malaysian Management Journal (MMJ)
A publication from Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM), published annually in July. Focus on empirical research findings, theoretical development, and practical applications in the following niche areas:
-Business Decision Making (Business Analytics)
-Behavioural Accounting
-Business Ethics
-Leadership
-Team/Group Studies
-Environment Social Governance (ESG) Management (Business Sustainability)

Tips on evaluating websites

Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:

Authority

Who is responsible for the page/site?
Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
Can you trust them?

Accuracy and reliability

Is the information correct?
Is the grammar and spelling correct?
Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
Is the information fact or opinion?

Currency

Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
Is it regularly updated?
You don't want to quote out-of-date information

Audience / relevance

Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!

Feel!

Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides

UoRM Business, management & finance: Websites