Skip to Main Content

LGBTQIA+: Journal articles

Library resources for researching LGBTQIA+ related topics

What are journal articles and how do I find them?

Journal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:

  • up-to-date research in your subject
  • reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references

Finding journal articles

Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.


For published works from University of Reading staff and students see our sample list of LGBTQIA+ related research at Reading

Search databases covering your subject

Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.

Selected journals

We subscribe to a wide range of journals relating to LGBTQIA+ research areas these are just a few of the titles.

To see a more comprehensive list of our e-journals in this area search the E-journals Finder:


To find out if we have a specific journal (in print or online) search the Library catalogue Enterprise:


Search Summon to find articles published in all our online journals:


Key databases for finding journal articles

In addition to Summon, the following databases may also help with finding LGBTQIA+ related articles.

Search the E-journals Finder

Select a search option, and then enter a journal title or ISSN in the box to find out if we have online access.


Help!

If you are having difficulties accessing articles via Summon or one of our databases see the links below.

If there is a problem with a Library e-resource please fill in a problem report form.

Browse our journals with BrowZine

Getting articles not held at Reading

Our Inter-Library Loans service can get articles not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).

For more information see our webpages:

Video: finding a journal article from a reference

This video will show you how to find out if the Library has access to a specific article - online or in print.

If you are unable to view this video on YouTube it is also available on YuJa - view the finding an article from a reference video on YuJa (University username and password required)

Video: discovering online articles and chapters with Summon

If you are unable to view these videos on YouTube they are also available on YuJa: