Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use dictionaries and encyclopedias?
- for summaries
- for lists of further reading
- when starting a project
Some useful titles are listed below. Find more on the catalogue by searching for a topic plus the word "encyclopedias" e.g. medicine encyclopedias
You can also search across multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias using the boxes below.
Reference works in biomedical sciences
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by
Call Number: LARGE--F 572.03-ENC
Publication Date: 2004
Practical Handbook of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by
Call Number: 572-PRA
Publication Date: 1989
Medical Microbiology by
Call Number: 616.01-MED
Publication Date: 2007
Microbiology and Microbial Infections by
Call Number: LARGE--F 616.01-TOP
Publication Date: 1998
Call Number: 615.1-BNF
Publication Date: 2021
The latest version of the BNF can be found through the MedicinesComplete database. It is also possible to access it free online via the NICE website https://bnf.nice.org.uk/ or download the app for Apple and Android. Print and online.
British Pharmacopoeia by
Call Number: LARGE--F 615.1142-BRI
Publication Date: 2015
Full-text access to the latest edition of The British Pharmacopoeia (BP), the leading collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances. Print and online.
Martindale: the complete drug reference by
Call Number: LARGE--F 615.11-MAR
Search Summon for definitions and explanations
Find definitions and summaries from a wide range of online dictionaries and encyclopedias by searching the Summon discovery service using the box below.
Search Credo Reference
Use Credo Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference works.
Search Oxford Reference
Use Oxford Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference titles, including bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, Italian, and Latin. If you are off-campus, you may need to log-in to view your search results.