Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Marketing Information - where to start?
Market research is when information is gathered together to analyse a market. Usually, you can find out target audiences, the size of the market, top competitors and consumer behaviour, depending on the market or product that you are researching.
Market research information
You can use the databases below to find out market & industry sector information.
A comprehensive collection of UK industry market research and industry risk ratings. Includes statistics, analysis, forecasts and Brexit Impact Reports.
Mintel Reports [full-text]
Provides consumer and market research reports.
Market data and reports for industries, countries and consumers.
Provides quantitative data and statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Other useful marketing sources
Use Oxford Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference titles, including bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, Italian, and Latin. If you are off-campus, you may need to log-in to view your search results.
For more help...
If you need more help using any of these databases, or finding specific information, please contact us. firstname.lastname@example.org
Tel: 0118 378 5120
You will need to login using your University email address and password to view the video. For the best experience please view on a larger screen such as a tablet or laptop instead of a mobile phone.
Market opportunities in countries
Among the best sources for researching markets in other countries are those produced by the Department of Trade & Industry (UK) and the State Department (USA).
UK Trade and Investment
Includes country profiles
The country commercial guides available on this site provide detailed information of use to exporters, collected through their embassies. There are country and industry market reports.
Market research - useful websites
Generally, market research data is very expensive, and the internet provides limited access to such information. It's better to use the market research databases on this page, but occasionally the following sites may prove useful:
Keynote Market Information Centre
Keynote is a supplier of market research reports covering a wide range of consumer, business and industry sectors. Freely available are the executive summaries and contents pages of the reports.
British Library Industry Guides
The British Library has a number of online industry guides.
House of Commons Research Briefings
This page provides access to research briefings produced by the House of Commons Library, the House of Lords Library and the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST). You can filter the research briefings by date, type, or one of 350 topics, including Business, industry and consumers.
YouGov conduct surveys on various industries, brands and events. Summaries of results are free to read. You can also sign up for free to YouGov Profiles Lite which gives information of audience profiles and demographics.