Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below.
See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!
Business Information Sources
A gateway maintained by Karen Blakeman at RBA Information Services. It is a selective and searchable guide to business information on the Internet with a European bias.
General management related sites
This is aimed a accountancy professionals, but is valuable for the academic community. News items are updated daily and there is an archive. Access is free of charge, but you need to register to use the site.
Business.com is a directory and search engine that focuses exclusively on business resources. The site includes company and industry profiles, business news as well as links to business-orientated web sites.
British library business collections
The British Library has an extensive collection of Business materials, as well as British Library Industry Guides for different business sectors, each with a range of links.
GlobalEDGE is a global business web portal created by the Centre for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University. The site includes a collection of links to research materials, news, periodicals and trade information. It also offers a wealth of information on more than 180 countries including outlines of their political structure, economic climate, history and statistical data.
Management and business studies portal
This is a subject portal provided by the British Library. It aims to help you find and use high quality management research publications quickly and easily. It has research reports, summaries, briefings, working papers, conference papers and articles. You will need to register to access some of the features.
CIA world factbook
A useful site prepared by the CIA, which gives basic economic and political information about countries around the world.
US Department of State
This American government site offers information on commercial and economic affairs, overseas opportunities and links to other sites. Particularly useful are the Background Notes which include detailed information on countries, including country's history, political conditions, economy and relations with other country.
Find Open Data
UK data from central government, local authorities and public bodies.
European Data Portal
The European Data Portal harvests the metadata of Public Sector Information available on public data portals across European countries.
A millennium of macroeconomic data (Bank of England dataset)
The dataset contains a broad set of macroeconomic and financial data for the UK stretching back in some cases to the C13th and with one or two benchmark estimates available for 1086, the year of the Domesday Book.
How much is that?
Data set where you can ask questions of comparative value covering prices, purchasing power, earnings, GDP, interest rates, exchange rates and other economic variables. The comparators allow you to convert past values into current values (and vice versa).
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to global development data.
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
Guides and tutorials
A brief guide to finding information which includes links to the main search engines.
Organisations and institutions
Tips on evaluating websites
Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:
- Who is responsible for the page/site?
- Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
- Can you trust them?
Accuracy and reliability
- Is the information correct?
- Is the grammar and spelling correct?
- Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
- Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
- Is the information fact or opinion?
- Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
- Is it regularly updated?
- You don't want to quote out-of-date information
Audience / relevance
- Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!
- Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
- Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
- If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides