Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:
- up-to-date research in your subject
- reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references
Types of articles
- Primary - these are first hand accounts of research that has been undertaken written by the researchers themselves.
- Secondary - describe, summarize, or discuss information or details originally presented in another source. These include review articles which summarise the current state of the knowledge on a topic (many databases allow you to restrict search results to this type of article). A more specialised secondary source are systematic reviews which use the existing literature to try to answer a specific question, often including a meta-analysis of the all the studies included in the relevant articles.
Finding journal articles
Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.
Search databases covering your subject
Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.
Key databases for finding journal articles
ARCOM CM Abstracts and Indexes
Association of Researchers in Construction Management. Covers some construction journals, ARCOM proceedings and PhD theses
Business Source Complete [full-text]
Articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications covering topics such as: accounting; banking; finance; international business; management; marketing; real estate; regional studies; sales; trade; and technology.
ICE Virtual Library [full-text]
The Institution of Civil Engineers Virtual Library includes environmental studies and the history and heritage of the built environment.
Web of Science Core Collection
Search this database for references to journal articles, books and conference papers in construction and the built environment. Includes the Science Citaion Index.
We subscribe to a wide range of journals in construction and management, these are just a few of the titles. Search the Enterprise catalogue to find out if we have a specific journal (in print or online). Search Summon (using the search box to the left) to find articles published in all our online journals.
If you are having difficulties accessing articles via Summon or one of our databases see the links below.
If there is a problem with a Library e-resource please fill in a problem report form.
Video: finding a journal article from a reference
This video will show you how to find out if the Library has access to a specific article - online or in print.
Video: discovering online articles and chapters with Summon
Citation example in the Harvard style
Yiu, C.Y. (2007) Building depreciation and sustainable development. Journal of Building Appraisal. 3(2), 97–103.
Getting books not held at Reading
Our Inter-Library Loans service can get books not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).
For more information see our webpages: