Skip to main content

Economics: Further sources

A guide to finding information in economics. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

Conference papers

Conference papers are published in a variety of ways - they may be published as a book, or as a special issue or supplement to a journal. Some may not be published at all!

If published promptly they can you give you the latest information on research in your field.

See our guide to finding conference papers for details of specialist sources for finding this type of information.

Newspapers

Newspapers can be a good source for the latest developments in a field and for current opinion on controversial topics.

We have online access to a number of current and archive newspaper issues. For further information and links go to our Finding newspapers page.

European Documentation Centre

Information Network logo

The European Documentation Centre (EDC) is a collection of material published by the European Union. It is located on the 4th Floor of the University Library. Its purpose is to enable study of European integration at Reading and to make the information available to the general public.

Market research

Theses

Reading University theses and dissertations

The Library receives a copy of all theses accepted for the degrees of PhD and MPhil by the University. All theses held by the Library can be found on the Enterprise catalogue. Recently submitted theses might also be available to download from the University's Institutional Repository, CentAUR.

Masters theses can usually be consulted in the relevant school or department.

Finding theses from other institutions

There are a number of specialist sources for finding theses produced at other institutions around the world. Many more are becoming available online making it much easier to get the full-text. For more information see our guide to finding theses.

Special Collections of archives, rare books and more...

Two students looking at a rare bookThe University’s Special Collections are available to all students in the University. The collections include rare books, manuscripts, records, letters, photographs, maps and drawings. Use the search box below to find specific items on the Enterprise catalogue.

 

The Special Collections Service is based on the London Road campus, in the same building as the Museum of English Rural Life. Items from the Special Collections cannot be borrowed, but they can be consulted in the reading room. You’re advised to plan ahead and contact Special Collections prior to your visit, so that we can have the material ready for you for when you arrive.

The following collections are relevant to students of economics.