It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education: Dictionaries & encyclopedias
A guide to finding information in education. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Some useful titles are listed below. Find more on the catalogue by searching for "education encyclopedias".
You can also search across multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias using the boxes below.
Search Summon for definitions and explanations
Find definitions and summaries from a wide range of online dictionaries and encyclopedias by searching the Summon discovery service using the box below.
Search Credo Reference
Use Credo Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference works.
Search Oxford Reference
Use Oxford Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference titles, including bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, Italian, and Latin. If you are off-campus, you may need to log-in to view your search results.
Search across Grove music dictionaries, Oxford companion to music and Oxford dictionary of music.
Online access to:
Grove Online, which includes:
- New Grove dictionary of music and musicians, 2nd edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001)
- New Grove dictionary of opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992)
- New Grove dictionary of jazz, 2nd edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).
Oxford companion to music
Oxford dictionary of music