Skip to main content

Education: Journal articles

A guide to finding information in education. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

Outline of a person holding a pile of blue volumes on a trayJournal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:

  • up-to-date research in your subject
  • reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references

Finding journal articles

Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.

Search Summon:


Search databases covering your subject

Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.

Key databases for finding journal articles etc.

To search across all these databases, follow links to one database, select 'Choose databases by subject' and select 'Education Databases'.

Citation example in the APA style

Saddler, H. (2014). Researching the influence of teaching assistants on the learning of pupils identified with special educational needs in mainstream primary schools: Exploring social inclusion. Journal of Research In Special Educational Needs, 14(3), 145-152. doi:10.1111/1471-3802.12019

Getting articles not held at Reading

Map of the south of the UKOur Inter-Library Loans service can get articles not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).

For more information see our webpages:

Help!

If you are having difficulties accessing articles via Summon or one of our databases see the links below.

If there is a problem with a Library e-resource please fill in a problem report form.

Video: finding a journal article from a reference

This video will show you how to find out if the Library has access to a specific article - online or in print.

Video: discovering online articles and chapters with Summon