Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business, informatics, management and accounting: Further sources

A guide to finding information in business, informatics, management and accounting. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

Other libraries for management and accounting

The Henley Business School Library

The Henley Business School Library is located in room G02 of the Business School. It has short loan copies of key textbooks and other material, such as company reports, journal articles and working papers. There is also access to electronic sources of information such as Datastream.  There is an additional resource centre at Greenlands.

British Library Business Collections

The British Library Business Collections have an excellent collection of trade directories, market research reports and company directories. A British Library reader's card is required.

Small Business Research and Enterprise Centre (previously called the City Business Library)

The Small Business Research and Enterprise Centre is a public library, which serves the City of London but is open to anyone. You can get a basic free membership online.

London Business School

Access to this library for non-University of London undergraduate students is charged at £30 per day. Postgraduate research students can have free access. Further details on the London Business School Library website.

Newspapers

Newspapers can be a good source for the latest developments in a field and for current opinion on controversial topics.

We have online access to a number of current and archive newspaper issues. For further information and links go to our Finding newspapers guide.

European Documentation Centre

The University of Reading was a European Documentation Centre (EDC) up to 2019, adding to Library stock a range of official European Union (EU) publications to support the study of European integration and make EU information available to the general public. A legacy physical collection of EDC material, including institutional working papers and journal parts, is shelved on the 3rd Floor of the Library, with books and bound journals integrated into the rest of the Library's stock.

Much EU official documentation is now made freely available on the Internet and can be located online using the resources in the Europe sections of the Websites listings for Politics and International Relations and for Law. For further detail on locating EU resources both online and in print, see our specialist guide:

Conference papers

Conference papers are published in a variety of ways - they may be published as a book, or as a special issue or supplement to a journal. Some may not be published at all!

If published promptly they can you give you the latest information on research in your field.

See our guide to finding conference papers for details of specialist sources for finding this type of information.

Theses

Reading University theses and dissertations

The Library receives a copy of all theses accepted for the degrees of PhD and MPhil by the University. All theses held by the Library can be found on the Enterprise catalogue. Recently submitted theses might also be available to download from the University's Institutional Repository, CentAUR.

Masters theses can usually be consulted in the relevant school or department.

Finding theses from other institutions

There are a number of specialist sources for finding theses produced at other institutions around the world. Many more are becoming available online making it much easier to get the full-text. For more information see our guide to finding theses.

See our guide to finding theses for more information:

Special Collections of archives, rare books and more...

Two students looking at a rare bookThe University’s Special Collections are available to all students in the University. The collections include rare books, manuscripts, records, letters, photographs, maps and drawings. Use the search box below to find specific items on the Enterprise catalogue.

 

The Special Collections Service is based on the London Road campus, in the same building as the Museum of English Rural Life. Items from the Special Collections cannot be borrowed, but they can be consulted in the reading room. You’re advised to plan ahead and contact Special Collections prior to your visit, so that we can have the material ready for you for when you arrive.

The following collections are relevant to students of management, accounting, marketing and informatics: