Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English language and applied linguistics: Journal articles

A guide to finding information in English language and applied linguistics. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

Outline of a person holding a pile of blue volumes on a trayJournal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:

  • up-to-date research in your subject
  • reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references
Types of articles
  • Primary - these are first hand accounts of research that has been undertaken written by the researchers themselves.
  • Secondary - describe, summarize, or discuss information or details originally presented in another source. These include review articles which summarise the current state of the knowledge on a topic (many databases allow you to restrict search results to this type of article). A more specialised secondary source are systematic reviews which use the existing literature to try to answer a specific question, often including a meta-analysis of the all the studies included in the relevant articles.
Finding journal articles

Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.

Search Summon:


Search databases covering your subject

Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.

Key databases for finding journal articles

Linguistics journals


For journals in related subjects see the following:

Getting articles not held at Reading

Map of the south of the UKOur Inter-Library Loans service can get articles not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).

For more information see our webpages:

Help!

If you are having difficulties accessing articles via Summon or one of our databases see the links below.

If there is a problem with a Library e-resource please fill in a problem report form.

Using our online resources from home

When you are off-campus we recommend that you follow links from the Library's webpages, Enterprise, Summon, or your subject guide. Following these links will often (but not always) direct you to login straight away with your University username and password.

You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. ab123456@student.reading.ac.uk) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication

Once you've logged in, you are then identified as a member of the University of Reading, and the book, search engine, or article database knows that you are a member of the University, and are allowed access to the material. You will not normally be asked to login again during that browser session.

Although you can search for information using a general web search, you will often find that you’re not able to access the information that you need – so it’s best to use the Library webpages first. 

If Single Sign On does not appear... 

If you have followed a link from our website or catalogues and you are not able to access the resource straight away you may need to look for a login option. Look for an institutional or shibboleth login option and pick 'University of Reading' from a list of institutions. This will direct you to login as above.

Accessing resources remotely

This series of videos covers accessing books, journal articles and primary sources when working away from campus. They include finding online Library resources and freely available material too.

If you are unable to watch these videos on YouTube they are also available on Stream (University username and password required):

To find a book you will need to use the Library’s Enterprise search – this is the first box on the Library homepage or use the box below. When you have searched, use the filters on the left-hand side to limit to Online only. To access an e-book online, click on the access link, and you will be prompted to login with your University username (e.g. ab123456@student.reading.ac.uk) and password. You can read e-books online, and can sometimes download part or all of a book to keep. 

If the book that you need isn't available as an e-book, please contact your Academic Liaison Librarian, and they may be able to purchase a copy.

Search Enterprise for e-books

 

Watch this short video on finding e-books on Enterprise

If you are unable to view this video on YouTube it is also available on Stream - view the Finding an e-book using Enterprise video on Stream (University username and password required)


Try Google books

If you need access to a specific book it is always worth trying Google Books. Although you won't find the complete text, it might provide the section you need.

To find chapters in books or online journal articles you can use the Library’s Summon search – this is the second box on the Library homepage or use the box below. Once you have run your search use the options on the left hand side to select the information that you need, for example journal articles, scholarly and peer review material. Everything that you see in your results can be accessed online - click the title or the Full Text Online link.  

If the article or chapter that you need isn't available online, please contact your Academic Liaison Librarian, and they may be able to help find alternative access.

Search Summon for online book chapters and journal articles

 

Watch this short video on searching Summon

If you are unable to view this video on YouTube it is also available on Stream - view the Get started with Summon video on Stream (University username and password required)


Finding Open Access research papers

In addition to the Open Access content listed on Summon you might want to try searching the following databases to find Open Access research papers:

Video: finding a journal article from a reference

This video will show you how to find out if the Library has access to a specific article - online or in print.

If you are unable to view this video on YouTube it is also available on Stream - view the finding an article from a reference video on Stream (University username and password required)

Video: discovering online articles and chapters with Summon

If you are unable to view this video on YouTube it is also available on Stream - view the Get started with Summon video on Stream (University username and password required)