Skip to main content

History of art: Dictionaries & encyclopedias

A guide to finding information in history of art. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

Use encyclopedias:

  • for summaries
  • for lists of further reading
  • when starting a project

Some useful titles are listed below. Find more on the catalogue by searching for "art history encyclopedias".

You can also search across multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias using the boxes below.

Search Summon for definitions and explanations

Find definitions and summaries from a wide range of online dictionaries and encyclopedias by searching the Summon discovery service using the box below.

Search Oxford Art Online

Search Oxford Art Online

Use this search box to search  Oxford Art Online, which includes the Grove dictionary of art.

Limited to 5 simultaneous users

Institutional login required to access this resource via a search engine when off-campus (select 'Login with Athens/Access Management Federation')

Search Credo Reference

Use Credo Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference works.

Credo Logo

Search Oxford Reference

Use Oxford Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference titles, including bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, Italian, and Latin. If you are off-campus, you may need to log-in to view your search results.

Oxford Reference Online Search Box Example

Search Oxford Reference Online

Useful reference works: selected titles