It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Psychology: Journal articles
A guide to finding information in psychology. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Journal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:
up-to-date research in your subject
reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references
Types of articles
Primary - these are first hand accounts of research that has been undertaken written by the researchers themselves.
Secondary - describe, summarise, or discuss information or details originally presented in another source. These include review articles which summarise the current state of the knowledge on a topic (many databases allow you to restrict search results to this type of article). A more specialised secondary source are systematic reviews which use the existing literature to try to answer a specific question, often including a meta-analysis of the all the studies included in the relevant articles.
Finding journal articles
Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.
Search databases covering your subject
Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.
Gives references to journal articles, books and chapters in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including education, linguistics, medicine, and physiology. Includes links to full-text articles in PsycARTICLES.
Gives references to journal articles, books and book chapters.
References for articles, reports, and other items in the sciences and social sciences including biomedical science, psychology, linguistics and social issues.
All subjects. Allows simultaneous searching of:
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Book Citation Index
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index
- Current Chemical Reactions
- Emerging Sources Citation Index
- Index Chemicus
- Science Citation Index
- Social Sciences Citation Index