Skip to main content

Real estate and planning: Further sources

A guide to finding information in real estate and planning. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

Conference papers

Conference papers are published in a variety of ways - they may be published as a book, or as a special issue or supplement to a journal. Some may not be published at all!

If published promptly they can you give you the latest information on research in your field.

See our guide to finding conference papers for details of specialist sources for finding this type of information.

European Documentation Centre

Information Network logo

The European Documentation Centre (EDC) is a collection of material published by the European Union. It is located on the 4th Floor of the University Library. Its purpose is to enable study of European integration at Reading and to make the information available to the general public.

Government information

Information produced by the government departments is a key source for real estate and planning. Individual official publications are listed on the Library catalogue. Most reports and government publications are now found online. The following sites are useful:

Newspapers

Newspapers can be a good source for the latest developments in a field and for current opinion on controversial topics.

We have online access to a number of current and archive newspaper issues. For further information and links go to our Finding newspapers guide.

Theses

Reading University theses and dissertations

The Library receives a copy of all theses accepted for the degrees of PhD and MPhil by the University. All theses held by the Library can be found on the Enterprise catalogue. Recently submitted theses might also be available to download from the University's Institutional Repository, CentAUR.

Masters theses can usually be consulted in the relevant school or department.

Finding theses from other institutions

There are a number of specialist sources for finding theses produced at other institutions around the world. Many more are becoming available online making it much easier to get the full-text. For more information see our guide to finding theses.

Maps & atlases

Maps can be used in nearly all disciplines to either research or display spatial information, including real estate and planning. The University Library contains about 70,000 maps and atlases, covering the whole world. They include original and facsimile maps from medieval to modern times, and access to online resources is also available.

To find out how maps can help you, see our presentation on Using maps for your research.

See our guide to Finding maps to get started; you may also find our guide to Digital maps and geographical data useful.

For digital maps of Great Britain, the best place to start is Digimap. This includes eight datasets, including contemporary Ordnance Survey maps; historical Ordnance Survey maps; geology maps; environmental land cover maps; marine charts and thematic data; aerial imagery ; census and socio-economic data and world maps. Maps can be printed out or data downloaded for use in a geographical information system.

For further help and advice, contact the Map Librarian.

Legislation

Useful sources

The Library provides access to British parliamentary papers electronically and in print, including debates, command papers and House of Commons papers going back to 1801. It also holds public acts and statutory instruments. See the subject guides for further guidance. In addition there are several subject specific titles, which are particularly relevant to real estate and planning.

  • Encyclopedia of planning law and practice
    Available in the Academic Resource Centre (ARC).
    This is a key reference source. It is a loose-leaf encyclopedia in six volumes, containing legislation, Department of the Environment Circulars, Planning Policy Guidance notes (PPGs) and Regional Planning Guidance (RPGs). The encyclopedia is updated regularly and there is also a monthly bulletin, which gives details of recent developments and sometimes includes consultation papers. PPGs are also available as individual documents (at LARGE--F 711.17-GRE or in the Academic Resource Centre (ARC)) or online.
     
  • Encyclopedia of housing law and practice
    Available in the Academic Resource Centre (ARC)
     
  • The handbook of rent review
    Available in the Academic Resource Centre (ARC)
     
  • Handbook of business tenancies
    LARGE--F 347.232-WIL
     
  • RICS appraisal and valuation standards (The red book)
    333.332-RIC
    Also available online via isurv and in the ARC
    Contains practice statements and guidance notes

Law reports

Building law reports
JOURNALS--PER 344.42075

Construction law reports
JOURNALS--PER 344.42075

Estates gazette law reports available on LexisLibrary