Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Literature: researching your dissertation: Online tutorials and guides

This guide gives an overview of the range of resources available to you when researching your dissertation topic. Topics covered include developing effective search strategies and finding scholarly primary and secondary source material.

Cambridge Companions Online

Take a guided tour of Cambridge Companions Online
(6MB Powerpoint presentation produced by Cambridge University Press)

Drama Online

The Drama Online collection features full-text plays and supporting critical and contextual material relating to works from the classical era to the present day. The collection features the theatre lists of Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare, Nick Hern Books and Faber and Faber. Featured writers include: Aeschylus, Euripides, Sophocles, Shakespeare, Ibsen, Chekhov, Bertolt Brecht, Oscar Wilde, and modern classics from Tom Stoppard, Caryl Churchill, Alan Ayckbourn, Mark Ravenhill, Brian Friel, John Osborne, Christopher Hampton, Alan Bennett, Willy Russell and David Hare.

All titles are listed on the Library catalogue.

Drama online also have their own YouTube channel where you can find out more about making the best use of this resource. Watch this overview video to see what Drama Online has on offer.

Online guides to databases and e-resources

Search ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online)

Historical Texts - Introduction to the Collections

What is the MLA Bibliography?

Keyword Search vs. Subject Search in the MLA International Bibliography

How to use Oxford Handbooks Online

You can access Oxford Handbooks Online from here

How to use Oxford Scholarly Editions Online

Shakespeare Survey

Using the Viewer