LibGuides: UoRM Construction management / Quantity surveying: Dictionaries & encyclopedias

Why use dictionaries and encyclopedias?

Use dictionaries :

To define a word: A dictionary is the most reliable tool for finding the precise meaning of a word you don't know.
To check spelling: It helps you confirm the correct spelling of a word, which is essential for clear writing.
To improve vocabulary: By exploring synonyms, antonyms, and related words, a dictionary can help you expand your vocabulary and express yourself more effectively.

Use encyclopedias :

Some useful titles are listed below.
You can also search in the boxes below.

Use the OED to find definitions of words.

Other recommended online references:

Oxford Bibliographies
Searchable research guides across a variety of subject areas.

Bibliographies currently subscribed to are:

-Anthropology
-Atlantic history
-Classics
-Medieval studies
-Philosophy
-Renaissance and Reformation
-Victorian literature

Individual articles are listed on the Library catalogue.

Help and guidance
Oxford Bibliographies help
Oxford Research Encyclopedias [full-text]
Contains in-depth, peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics. We have access to the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science.

Help and guidance
Guided tour of Oxford Research Encyclopedias
Statista
Provides quantitative data and statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Also included are reports, infographics, revenue forecasts on over 400 industries, and a glossary of statistical terms.

Help and guidance
Statista Help & FAQs