Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below.
See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!
ChemSpider is a searchable resource providing access to millions of chemical structures. It has a useful property predictor function.
This site provides key data relating to the elements of the periodic table, such as biology, crystal structures and NMR.
The Periodic Table of Videos
Short videos describing all 118 chemical elements.
Search substance, compound or bioassay databases to find chemical information including structures, synonyms, molecular weight and formula.
IUPAC Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry (the "Blue Book")
The authoritative guide to nomenclature in organic chemistry
NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry WebBook includes thermochemical data, reaction thermochemistry data, IRUV/VIS and mass spectra, ion energetics data and thermophysical property data.
Useful site for defining and identifying substances. Maintained by the US National Library of Medicine.
The Chemical Thesaurus reaction chemistry database
Information about chemical entities and chemical reactions, interactions and processes. Allows you to jump from chemical to chemical via the associated interactions, reactions and processes.
Physical Sciences Data-science Service
Free access to high-quality, curated data resources. Including crystal structures; thermodynamics, chemical properties, and chemical availability. Includes the Cambridge Structural Database System.
A publishers' website (Wiley) with sections on Atomic Spectroscopy, IR, MRI, MS, NMR, Raman, UV, X-Ray, Chemometrics & Informatics and Proteomics. It includes news articles, book reviews, job and conference information.
American Chemical Society (ACS)
This site provides information about ACS Publications, journals, topical issues, jobs, grants, continuing education, meetings, chemical history and events.
The Royal Society of Chemistry
The Society is a major publisher and provider of chemical information. The site includes links to special interest groups, RSC awards and e-mail alerting services, funding, awards, medals, Parliamentary activities, Foresight activities and the RSC Library and Information Centre, which includes a library catalogue, new publications and links to useful chemistry information resources on the Internet. There is also information on careers, courses, networking and a dedicated page for HE students
An international listing of conferences, exhibitions and trade fairs. You can submit details of events free of charge.
The Royal Society
This covers all sciences and particularly comments on policy and developments as well as publishing highly ranked journals.
Chemical Structure Association Trust
This site is useful for finding information about awards, grants and conferences.
Guide to finding free resources
We've put together this guide to finding free research resources to help you discover Open Access books and articles:
Tips on evaluating websites
Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:
- Who is responsible for the page/site?
- Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
- Can you trust them?
Accuracy and reliability
- Is the information correct?
- Is the grammar and spelling correct?
- Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
- Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
- Is the information fact or opinion?
- Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
- Is it regularly updated?
- You don't want to quote out-of-date information
Audience / relevance
- Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!
- Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
- Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
- If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides
Citing websites in the RSC style
In the text of your coursework insert a superscript number in sequence. Read more about this on the citing references page.
In your bibliography websites should be referenced as:
- Name of resource, URL, [accessed date].
- ChemSpider, http://www.chemspider.com/Chemical-Structure.4886482.html, [11 May 2016].