Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below.
See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!
Access to official documentation, present and past.
AcademicInfo - Education
One of a series of subject information gateways forming part of Academic Info, a directory of Internet resources tailored to a higher education audience. Each subject guide is an annotated listing of the best general Internet sites in the field, as well as a gateway to more advanced research tools. Includes links to online publications, language and study aids, reference materials, database archives, virtual libraries, tutorials, as well as other educational materials. Compiled in the United States.
The National Autistic Society's free online database of published materials on autism.
A collection of BBC video clips for use in the classroom - browse by school level, subject and topic.
Institute of Education Gateways and Portals
Some useful links to online resources relevant to Education available on the Internet.
Structure of European education systems
Online version of:
European Commission/EACEA/Eurydice, 2020. The Structure of the European Education Systems
2020/21: Schematic Diagrams. Eurydice Facts and Figures. Luxembourg: Publications Office of
the European Union.
Organisations and institutions
CfBT Education Trust
A leading authority on school improvement and school inspection with expertise in supporting the teaching of English and other languages.
Centre for Studies on Inclusive Education (CSIE)
Offers free online access to some of its publications. Also provides links to other organisations concerned with inclusion as well as statistical information on inclusive education.
Institute of Education (IOE), University of London
Leading centre for educational research in the UK.
National Association for Special Educational Needs (NASEN)
Links provided to other useful sites, information on news and events, full text of press releases.
National College for Teaching & Leadership
Supports continuing professional and leadership development, and school improvement. The agency was formed from the merger of the National College for School Leadership and the Teaching Agency in April 2013.
National STEM Centre
The National STEM Centre is building the largest collection of resources for teachers of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics in the UK. Alongside contemporary resource materials including print, multimedia, and practical resources, is a growing archive collection, which showcases several decades of curriculum development. Many of these resources are freely available online from the National STEM Centre E-Library.
The Office for Standards in Education (OFSTED) is officially the Office of Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Schools in England. This site provides summaries of recent inspections.
UK body promoting excellence in communication with deaf and deafblind people. (Formerly Council for the Advancement of Communication with Deaf People). Offers nationally recognised qualifications, including in deaf awareness and British Sign Language (BSL). Buy publications from their shop or register for their online BSL homework service to practice and test yourself in BSL. The first unit and online dictionary is free.
Guides and tutorials
A brief guide to finding information which includes links to the main search engines.
Tips on evaluating websites
Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:
- Who is responsible for the page/site?
- Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
- Can you trust them?
Accuracy and reliability
- Is the information correct?
- Is the grammar and spelling correct?
- Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
- Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
- Is the information fact or opinion?
- Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
- Is it regularly updated?
- You don't want to quote out-of-date information
Audience / relevance
- Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!
- Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
- Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
- If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides
Data sets in this section can be used for secondary data analysis.
UK Data Service
Provides access to statistics from the OECD, UNESCO and World Bank. Some data is freely available, however for some data sets you may need to register further to request permissions after initial login.
Quandl is a freely available index of over 7 million time-series datasets, covering subjects such as commodity prices, health statistics, education statistics, demographics, etc. Quandl pulls together its data from over 400 freely available sources. Data can be downloaded in a number of formats.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union and provides access to data on all member countries as well as some data on candidate member countries.
Statista provides quantitative data and statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Holds datasets from published research in language learning and teaching.
Video Resources in this area can be used for 'Virtual Lesson Observations'
contains video and audio of parent-child interactions and also some of child-child interactions. Particularly useful for investigating language development in young learners.
Includes video of classroom settings which can be used for virtual lesson observations.
Video of classroom settings, useful for virtual lesson observations of behaviour management.