It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Film, theatre and television: Journal articles
A guide to finding information in film, theatre and television. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Journal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:
up-to-date research in your subject
reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references
Types of articles
Primary - these are first hand accounts of research that has been undertaken written by the researchers themselves.
Secondary - describe, summarise, or discuss information or details originally presented in another source. These include review articles which summarise the current state of the knowledge on a topic (many databases allow you to restrict search results to this type of article). A more specialised secondary source are systematic reviews which use the existing literature to try to answer a specific question, often including a meta-analysis of the all the studies included in the relevant articles.
Finding journal articles
Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.
Search databases covering your subject
Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.
Search simultaneously or separately across three separate film databases. FIAF gives references to journal articles and includes access to many of the articles in full-text. FII and AFI Catalogue are extensive filmographies, listing credits and associated reviews.
Search simultaneously across the following databases:
-FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database - Gives references to journal articles and access to the full-text of several journals. Also includes information about holdings of silent films in international film archives, and a directory of film and tv collections held by institutions worldwide.
-Film Index International (FII) – International index of films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters. Gives biographical information for almost 57,000 personalities. Also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. References to published reviews and articles about individual films are also included within the records.
-AFI Catalog - The American Film Institute's catalogue is a comprehensive filmography of American films from 1893 to 1974, with records for selected major films from 1975-2008. New records are added each year by the AFI’s editorial team. Useful for identifying sources and reviews.
Part of Web of Science, the AHCI covers the arts and humanities from 1970 to the present. It references journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, music scores, poems, plus reviews of literature, performances and recordings.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Arts & Humanities Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
Gives references to journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, music scores, poems, plus reviews of literature, performances and recordings. Covers 1970-
Bibliography of literature, language, linguistics and folklore worldwide; gives references and abstracts to journal articles, monographs, working papers, bibliographies, etc, from 1963 up to the most recent issues.
MLA (Modern Language Association International Bibliography) covers literature, language, linguistics and folklore worldwide.
Gives references to journal articles, monographs, working papers, conference proceedings, indexes and bibliographies, etc.