Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film, theatre and television: Further sources

A guide to finding information in film, theatre and television. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

Special Collections and Archives

The University's Special Collections include several collections relating to Film, Theatre and Television:

Conference papers

Conference papers are published in a variety of ways - they may be published as a book, or as a special issue or supplement to a journal. Some may not be published at all!

If published promptly they can you give you the latest information on research in your field.

See our guide to finding conference papers for details of specialist sources for finding this type of information.

Film, Theatre and Television students performing on stage

Image and sound resources

If you want to find images, audio or video to help with your teaching, learning or research some of the following resources may be of use - many of them include material specially licensed for educational use in Higher Education, others are freely available websites and collections and some provide details of content which may be available to purchase or find in other libraries / archives.

See our guide to image and sound resources for details of specialist sources for finding this type of information.

Theses

Reading University theses and dissertations

The Library receives a copy of all theses accepted for the degrees of PhD and MPhil by the University. All theses held by the Library can be found on the Enterprise catalogue. Recently submitted theses might also be available to download from the University's Institutional Repository, CentAUR.

Masters theses can usually be consulted in the relevant school or department.

Finding theses from other institutions

There are a number of specialist sources for finding theses produced at other institutions around the world. Many more are becoming available online making it much easier to get the full-text. For more information see our guide to finding theses.

See our guide to finding theses for more information:

Newspapers

Newspapers can be a good source for the latest developments in a field and for current opinion on controversial topics.

We have online access to a number of current and archive newspaper issues. For further information and links go to our Finding newspapers guide.