Journal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:
Finding journal articles
Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic words or for a specific article title.
For published works from University of Reading staff and students see our sample list of gender-related research at Reading.
Search databases covering your subject
Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.
We subscribe to a wide range of journals relating to gender studies, these are just a few of the titles.
To see a more comprehensive list of our e-journals in this area search the E-journals Finder:
Search the Enterprise catalogue to find out if we have a specific journal (in print or online):
Search Summon (using the search box at the top of this page) to find articles published in all our online journals.
In addition to Summon, the following databases may also help with finding disability related articles.
References to published materials in the arts and humanities including journal articles, letters, editorials and reviews.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Arts & Humanities Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
References to journal articles and theses relating to all aspects and fields of education from preschool to higher education.
References to research documents, journal articles, and other materials covering education.
Archive of journal articles covering most subjects.
Please read the JSTOR terms and conditions of use before accessing JSTOR. You may not download an entire issue of a journal from the JSTOR database or keep multiple electronic or paper copies of any article. You may not alter or distribute any Content, including but not limited to transmission via email to another computer.
Access to articles in over 500 journal titles in arts, humanities and social sciences.
References to publications in the sciences. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Science Citation index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Gives references to journal articles in the social sciences.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Social Sciences Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
Provides references to journal articles and other publications in all subject areas. Includes the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Science Citation Indexes.
Check which indexes you wish to search under 'More settings'.
Our Inter-Library Loans service can get articles, books and other publications not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).
For more information see our webpages:
This video will show you how to find out if the Library has access to a specific article - online or in print.