Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below.
See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!
Guides and tutorials
A brief guide to finding information which includes links to the main search engines.
Academic Info - Geography
One of a series of subject information gateways forming part of Academic Info, a directory of Internet resources tailored to a higher education audience. Each subject guide is an annotated listing of the best general Internet sites in the field, as well as a gateway to more advanced research tools. Includes links to online publications, language and study aids, reference materials, database archives, virtual libraries, tutorials, as well as other educational materials. Compiled in the United States. Other useful subject guides include:
Agriculture Network Information Centre (AgNic)
A US-based guide to quality Internet resources in agriculture, maintained by an alliance of libraries and organisations, including the National Agricultural Library. The database can be searched by keyword or browsed by subject, and each link is evaluated and described by a subject expert.
This site contains hundreds of images on geoscience themes, including climate, atmospheric sciences, hydrology and ocean sciences. As the European Geosciences Union’s online open access geosciences image repository, the material posted is mostly copyrighted under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 licence. This means that the material can be copied for presentations, posters etc., but must be credited to the author
A portal providing search and browse access to major geoscience journal articles, maps and images. Free access to abstracts.
A portal allowing cross-searching of numerous scientific journals and public science databases.
World Reference Base for Soil Resources (WRB)
The WRB is a joint effort of FAO, ISRIC and ISSS. Its aim is the harmonization of soil classification through the development of a set of common criteria and methodology to be applied to the classification of soils. The site contains maps with indication of soil types and a list of the soil classification used, with definitions.
Tips on evaluating websites
Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:
- Who is responsible for the page/site?
- Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
- Can you trust them?
Accuracy and reliability
- Is the information correct?
- Is the grammar and spelling correct?
- Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
- Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
- Is the information fact or opinion?
- Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
- Is it regularly updated?
- You don't want to quote out-of-date information
Audience / relevance
- Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!
- Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
- Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
- If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides
Organisations & institutions
AAG - Association of American Geographers
A scientific and educational society founded in 1904, the site provides information on membership, publications and events.
British Society of Soil Science
Details of society news, events and membership.
UK government department site (formerly MAFF) containing statistical databases and news.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
The FAO site includes news, events, publications and statistical databases.
The Geographical Association is the national association for geography teachers providing information and resources for them and students of geography. It provides information about membership, publications and events as well as links to geography related sites.
The national mapping agency of Great Britain
Royal Geographical Society with the Institute of British Geographers
The UK's learned Society for geography and geographers founded in 1830 for the advancement of geographical science. The site provides information on Membership membership, Publications, Events, and its Collections.
Royal Meteorological Society
The British learned and professional society for weather and climate. Gives information about membership, also contains up-to-date news about the Society's activities and has details about its journals.
Soil Science Society of America
Acquires and disseminates information about soils in relation to crop production, environmental quality, ecosystem sustainability, and other areas of interest to soil scientists.
US Geological Survey
Focuses on Science areas: Biology, Geography, Geology, Geospatial and Water. Also has a section on natural hazards.
Includes access to full-text of many USGS publications through the Publications Warehouse
US Geological Society Publications Warehouse
Includes Bulletins, Professional papers and Watersupply papers.