Use encyclopedias:
Some useful titles are listed below. Find more on the catalogue by searching for "history encyclopedias".
You can also search across multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias using the boxes below.
Find definitions and summaries from a wide range of online dictionaries and encyclopedias by searching the Summon discovery service using the box below.
Use Credo Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference works.
A combiniation of a dictionary and annotated bibliography, Oxford Bibliographies provide up-to-date references on a variety of subjects, including Classics, Philosophy and Medieval studies.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. As well as finding present-day meanings, you are able to view the history of individual words, and of the language, traced through 3 million quotations.
Encyclopedia of the Cold War by 
International Encyclopedia of Military History by 
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe by 
The Encyclopedia of World History by 
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by 
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by 
The Wiley-Blackwell Dictionary of Modern European History Since 1789 by 
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History by 
The Bridgeman Art Library Archive
Dictionary of Women Artists by 
The Oxford Dictionary of Christian Art and Architecture by 
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture by 
Illustrated Dictionary of Architecture, 800-1914 by 
The Encyclopedia of Sculpture by 
