Use dictionaries and encyclopedias:
The Library has a large number of both print and online language dictionaries. Print dictionaries are mainly shelved in the Dictionaries section on the 3rd Floor, with most being non-loan. Some useful titles are listed below; find more on the catalogue. You can also search across multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias using the Summon, Credo Reference and Oxford Reference boxes below.
Fully searchable, comprehensive and easy to use bilingual dictionaries for French, German, Italian and Spanish.
There are also language learning and usage tools and resources, such as downloadable letters, grammar notes, verb tables and cultural information to provide practical help with writing.
Find definitions and summaries from a wide range of online dictionaries and encyclopedias by searching the Summon discovery service using the box below.
Use Credo Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference works.
British Sign Language
419.1
English
DICTIONARIES--DIC 423
German
DICTIONARIES--DIC 433.2
French
DICTIONARIES--DIC 443.2
Italian
DICTIONARIES--DIC 453.2
Spanish
DICTIONARIES--DIC 463.2
Latin
DICTIONARIES--DIC 473.2
Modern Greek
DICTIONARIES--DIC 489.3
Russian
DICTIONARIES--DIC 491.732
Arabic
DICTIONARIES--DIC 492.132
Mandarin Chinese
DICTIONARIES--DIC 495.132
Japanese
DICTIONARIES--DIC 495.632
If you are on campus you will be able to access most e-journals and e-books, and some databases, without entering a username and password because your IP address identifies you as being at the University of Reading.
For any that require a login, see the Off-campus tab.
When you use our e-resources you are agreeing to our Terms of Use. Please take a moment to look at these by following the link below:
When you are off-campus you will need to login to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals.
Your login details
You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. ab123456@student.reading.ac.uk) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication. For more information see:
Getting to the login page...
Watch this short video on how you login to use Library resources.
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary [ONLINE ACCESS]
Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary [ONLINE ACCESS]
Collins FLTRP English-Mandarin Chinese Dictionary by 
Oxford Beginner's Japanese Dictionary by 
The Oxford Russian Dictionary by 
Oxford Arabic Dictionary by 
Collins English-Greek dictionary
British Sign Language [Book/DVD Pack] by 
