Market research is when information is gathered together to analyse a market. Usually, you can find out target audiences, the size of the market, top competitors and consumer behaviour, depending on the market or product that you are researching.
You can use the databases below to find out market & industry sector information.
Provides expert global market and brand analysis.
Registration with Gartner is required, subject to Gartner's Privacy Policy
A comprehensive collection of UK industry market research and industry risk ratings. Includes statistics, analysis, forecasts and Brexit Impact Reports.
Provides consumer and market research reports.
When accessing Mintel you may reach a screen that asks for the Client/Campus login. Please select the 'Login here' option next to 'Need federated login?'. You will be directed to the University Single Sign on page, please log in as normal.
Market data and reports for industries, countries and consumers.
Please be aware that the first time you use the service you will need to create an account, which requires information about your full name and course.
Provides quantitative data and statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources covering most subjects.
Among the best sources for researching markets in other countries are those produced by the Department of Trade & Industry (UK) and the State Department (USA).
Other sources:
Full-text articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
Market data and reports for industries, countries and consumers.
Please be aware that the first time you use the service you will need to create an account, which requires information about your full name and course.
Generally, market research data is very expensive, and the internet provides limited access to such information. It's better to use the market research databases on this page, but occasionally the following sites may prove useful:
You will need to login using your University email address and password to view the video. For the best experience please view on a larger screen such as a tablet or laptop instead of a mobile phone.
If you need help with finding information, then please contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for advice.