It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mathematics and statistics: Journal articles
A guide to finding information in mathematics and statistics. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Journal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:
up-to-date research in your subject
reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references
Types of articles
Primary - these are first hand accounts of research that has been undertaken written by the researchers themselves.
Secondary - describe, summarize, or discuss information or details originally presented in another source. These include review articles which summarise the current state of the knowledge on a topic (many databases allow you to restrict search results to this type of article). A more specialised secondary source are systematic reviews which use the existing literature to try to answer a specific question, often including a meta-analysis of the all the studies included in the relevant articles.
Finding journal articles
Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.
Search databases covering your subject
Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.
Key databases for finding journal articles
Subject specific databases
The following may include the full text of the articles or just provide the reference to articles on a particular topic.
References in the Biomedical Sciences, including medical statistics.
We also have access to PubMed on Web of Science from 1950 to the present day.
It gives references to journal articles in the biomedical sciences including: biotechnology and bioengineering; clinical medicine; drugs and toxicology; forensic medicine; health affairs; non-clinical aspects of health care; psychiatry. Covers 1950 to the present day.
Help and guidance Help using PubMed
To save searches and set up alerts, you will need to use a third-party sign-in option, such as Facebook or Google. It is not possible to use your University login credentials for this purpose.
Includes Compumath for pure and applied mathematics and related fields.
Covers natural, physical, and biomedical science and technology, including: Agriculture; Biology including plant sciences and zoology; Biotechnology; Chemistry and biochemistry; Computer science; Materials science; Mathematics; Medicine including pharmacology; Neuroscience; Physics; and Veterinary science.
References to journal articles, reports, papers, discussions, editorials, notes, reviews and other items.
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.
It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.
Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:
-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history