Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Meteorology: Journal articles

A guide to finding information in meteorology. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

Outline of a person holding a pile of blue volumes on a trayJournal articles are usually short papers on specific topics. They are published in issues or parts of journals (also called periodicals) which appear regularly. Use articles to find:

  • up-to-date research in your subject
  • reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references
Types of articles
  • Primary - these are first hand accounts of research that has been undertaken written by the researchers themselves.
  • Secondary - describe, summarize, or discuss information or details originally presented in another source. These include review articles which summarise the current state of the knowledge on a topic (many databases allow you to restrict search results to this type of article). A more specialised secondary source are systematic reviews which use the existing literature to try to answer a specific question, often including a meta-analysis of the all the studies included in the relevant articles.
Finding journal articles

Search the Summon discovery service using the box below to find full-text journal articles available via the Library. Search using topic topic words or for a specific article title.

Search Summon:


Search databases covering your subject

Alternatively try the subject-related databases listed below. They will give you references to journal articles - they may also give you the full-text of the article, or at least link you to the full-text if it is available online.

Key databases for finding journal articles

Search the E-journals Finder

Select a search option, and then enter a journal title or ISSN in the box to find out if we have online access.


Citation examples in the AMS style

The Department of Meteorology recommend using the American Meteorological Society style for citations. See the Citing references tab in this guide and your student handbook for more detailed guidance.

For general information on referencing, see our Citing references guide.

Examples of a journal article citation

Hubert, L. F., and L. F. Whitney Jr., 1971: Wind estimation from geostationary satellite pictures. Mon. Wea. Rev., 99, 665–672.

Meixner, T., L. A. Bastidas, H. V. Gupta, and R. C. Bales, 2002: Multicriteria parameter estimation of models of stream chemical composition. Water Resour. Res., 38, 1027, doi:10.1029/2000WR000112.

Help!

If you are having difficulties accessing articles via Summon or one of our databases see the links below.

If there is a problem with a Library e-resource please fill in a problem report form.

Video: finding a journal article from a reference

This video will show you how to find out if the Library has access to a specific article - online or in print.

Video: discovering online articles and chapters with Summon

Getting articles not held at Reading

Map of the south of the UKOur Inter-Library Loans service can get articles not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).

For more information see our webpages: