Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below.
See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!
Guides and Tutorials
A brief guide to finding information which includes links to the main search engines.
Key websites: Museum Studies
Key websites (Classics)
ABZU: a guide to information related to the study of the Ancient Near East on the Web
Abzu, hosted by the library of the Oriental Institute at the University of Chicago, is a searchable database of open access material (journals, articles, books, websites) relevant to the study of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
Website for the Athenian agora excavations, maintained by the American School of Classical Studies at Athens. It includes an interactive guide to the major buildings, information about democracy in Athens as well as details about the excavations themselves.
Center for Hellenic Studies
The Center for Hellenic Studies is based at Harvard University. The website includes freely available material, including a series of online discussions and two online freely available (open access) journals.
ETANA: Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives
Provides access to: ABZU (a searchable database of open access materials relevant to the study of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world): Core Texts (digitised texts selected as valuable for teaching and research relating to ancient Near Eastern studies): eTACT (repository for translations of Akkadian materials).
A bibliographic database for ancient history, classical philology and archaeology. It indexes monographs, journal articles, conference papers and dissertations in many languages. You can search by keyword, author, title, subject and publication and it covers 1990 onwards.
The Online Liddell-Scott Jones Lexicon
This is a Greek-English lexicon provided by Thesaurus Linguae Graecae. You can search for Greek words or for English words within the definitions.
Perseus Collection: Greek and Roman Materials
A digital library project from the Department of the Classics, Tufts University which provides online access to collections/texts, covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, including full-text translations of Ancient authors.
UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology
The free, open version of 'UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology', containing a variety of up-to-date articles on ancient Egypt, written by the world's leading scholars.
Voice of the Shuttle: Classical Studies
A gateway of sites prepared and maintained by the University of California.
Woodhouse: English-Greek Dictionary
Created by the University of Chicago, this resource provides a searchable e-book version of S. C. Woodhouse's English-Greek Dictionary.
Print copies are available in the Library at DICTIONARIES--483.2-WOO - see the Library catalogue for more information.
Key websites (Archaeology)
Tips on evaluating websites
Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:
- Who is responsible for the page/site?
- Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
- Can you trust them?
Accuracy and reliability
- Is the information correct?
- Is the grammar and spelling correct?
- Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
- Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
- Is the information fact or opinion?
- Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
- Is it regularly updated?
- You don't want to quote out-of-date information
Audience / relevance
- Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!
- Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
- Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
- If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides
Online journals (freely accessible, no login required)
Organisations and institutions
General archaeology-related sites
The site of the journal. Doesn't provide online access to articles, but does have a searchable handbook which locates current digs, and local organizations.
A portal allowing cross-searching of numerous scientific journals and public science databases.