Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use dictionaries and encyclopedias?
Encyclopedias and dictionaries are an excellent alternative to Wikipedia. You can use them:
- when starting a project that is new or unfamiliar
- for summaries
- for lists of further reading
Some useful titles are listed below. Find more on the catalogue by searching for "pharmacy encyclopedias".
You can also search across multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias using the boxes below.
Key online reference source
The IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology
This website is an authoritative source of pharmacological information developed by The British Pharmacological Society (BPS) and the International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR).
Useful reference works: selected titles
Call Number: 615.1-BNF
Publication Date: 2021
The latest version of the BNF can be found through the MedicinesComplete database. It is also possible to access it free online via the NICE website https://bnf.nice.org.uk/ or download the app for Apple and Android. Print and online.
British Pharmacopoeia by
Call Number: LARGE--F 615.1142-BRI
Publication Date: 2015
Full-text access to the latest edition of The British Pharmacopoeia (BP), the leading collection of standards for UK medicinal products and pharmaceutical substances. Print and online.
Martindale: the complete drug reference by
Call Number: LARGE--F 615.11-MAR
Visible Body [images]
Visible Body is a comprehensive resource of 3D interactive modules illustrating the basic movement of a variety of muscles throughout the human body as they interact with bone, nerves, and ligaments.
Search Summon for definitions and explanations
Find definitions and summaries from a wide range of online dictionaries and encyclopedias by searching the Summon discovery service using the box below.
Search Credo Reference
Use Credo Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference works.
Search Oxford Reference
Use Oxford Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference titles, including bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, Italian, and Latin. If you are off-campus, you may need to log-in to view your search results.