Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pharmacy: Help & training

A guide to finding information in pharmacy. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.

On this page you will find training materials and sources of support for your studies. In addition to using these resources you may wish to contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for one-to-one help. They are here to help you find and use information. They can...

  • show you how to use information resources effectively
  • show you how to save time by making the most of all Library services
  • give you individual help with research - your librarian can offer in depth help in finding information

Your librarian

Profile Photo
Jackie Skinner
Book an appointment
Contact:
Please contact me if you have a query or need advice on literature searching, accessing resources, referencing or using EndNote/Mendeley.

Email me, or make an appointment using the buttons above. Appointments can be in person or online via MS Teams.

In term-time I also hold a weekly drop-in for quick queries on Tuesdays 13:00-14:00. See the drop-in box on this page for more detail.
Website

Library drop-in

Question marks

Got a question about the Library, finding information, referencing, literature searching or using EndNote/Mendeley? 

Then come along to the Library drop-in.

When? Tuesdays 13:00-14:00 in term-time

Where? Harry Nursten Building Room 2-64 (the PC Lab at the back of the 2nd Floor)

Also online via Blackboard Collaborate - just follow the link below:

Useful books on doing your research project

Welcome!

Watch this short video for an introduction to the Library and our services and support for Pharmacy. 

If you are unable to view this video on YouTube it is also available on YuJa - view the Library intro video on YuJa (University username and password required)

Using EndNote to manage and create references

There are two versions of EndNote - Desktop and Online. Use the guide and videos below to teach yourself how to use Desktop EndNote to manage your references and insert them in Word documents. EndNote Online will act as a backup for your library of references if you set up the sync option.

The University has a site licence for EndNote which covers installation on personal computers. Go to the DTS Self-Service Portal to get the software. Note that you will need to have the full version of Office installed before installing EndNote so that the EndNote toolbar can be added to Word (it will not work with the online version of Word). You can install Office by logging in to office.com with your University credentials and clicking on 'Install Office' in the top right of the screen.

Step-by-step guide

This guide covers:

  • downloading and installing the software
  • adding references to EndNote
  • managing and editing references
  • using EndNote with Word to create Citations and a Reference list in the correct 'Cite Them Right - Harvard' style
Introductory videos

Watch this series of four videos to find out how to use Desktop EndNote. You will need to login with your University username and password to view these videos.

Other support for your studies

We have a range of videos designed to introduce you to the Library and show you how to use our resources.

Study advice

The Study Advice Team offer study guides, workshops, individual advice sessions, and much more to make your studying more effective and successful. See the Study Advice webpages for more information, or pop in to make an appointment at the Study Advice and Maths Support Desk on the Ground Floor of the Library.

Maths Support

The Maths Support service provides guidance on maths, statistics, psychometric tests and much more. Find all their resources on the website:

Digital Technology Services

DTS provide advice with using computer software and hardware. For individual support pop in and ask at the IT Service Desk on the 1st Floor of the Library. For more information see their website.

If you need guidance on using Microsoft Office products such as Word, Excel, Access or PowerPoint try these online tutorials:

International Study and Language Institute (ISLI) - Academic English Programme

If you are an international student, the Academic English Programme offers courses and 1-1 support. ISLI can also provide a list of private proof readers on request - email aep@reading.ac.uk.

Literature searching guidance

This series of three videos (available via the tabs in this box) cover:

  • What is a literature search: tips on getting started and techniques to use
  • Finding journal articles using Summon, PubMed and Web of Science
  • Using the following specialist resources: MedicinesComplete (BNF/BNFC/Stockleys drug interactions), British Pharmacopoeia and The Cochrane Library (systematic reviews).

You will need to login using your University email address and password to view the videos.

We also have the following generic guides to literature searching and searching databases:

Literature search plan template and example

Use the following documents to help you plan your literature search to make it as comprehensive as possible. 

This video covers finding journal articles using Summon, PubMed and Web of Science.

This video covers using the following specialist resources: MedicinesComplete (BNF/BNFC/Stockleys drug interactions), British Pharmacopoeia and The Cochrane Library (systematic reviews).

Doing a systematic review

An introduction to planning your systematic review.

You will need to login using your University email address and password to view the videos.

See also our detailed guide to doing a systematic review:

This video covers the first four steps in doing a systematic review, including creating a protocol and searching for literature.

This video covers the fifth and sixth steps in doing a systematic review. It focuses on using Desktop EndNote to manage references and screening the literature.

The final in a series of four videos on systematic reviews which covers writing it up.

Creating a search using PubMed

Most health-related systematic reviews will involve a search on PubMed. But do you know how to create the most effective search strategy to take advantage of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)? This video created by John Hopkins University explains all the steps involved in ensuring your search is as comprehensive as possible.