Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why use dictionaries and encyclopedias?
Encyclopedias and dictionaries are an excellent alternative to Wikipedia. You can use them:
- when starting a project that is new or unfamiliar
- for summaries
- for lists of further reading
Some useful titles are listed below. Find more on the catalogue by searching for a broad topic and the word "encyclopedias" e.g. "clinical encyclopedias".
You can also search across multiple dictionaries and encyclopedias using the boxes below.
Useful reference works: selected titles
Call Number: 615.1-BNF
Publication Date: 2021
The latest version of the BNF can be found through the MedicinesComplete database. It is also possible to access it free online via the NICE website https://bnf.nice.org.uk/ or download the app for Apple and Android. Print and online.
Cracking the code : a quick reference guide to interpreting patient medical notes by
Call Number: 651.504261-MAD
Publication Date: 2018
Martindale: the complete drug reference by
Call Number: LARGE--F 615.11-MAR
OpenMD Medical Dictionary
Definitions for 11,000 terms and 5,000 acronyms aggregated from leading medical institutions. Includes illustrations, phonetic pronunciations, and related terms.
Search Summon for definitions and explanations
Find definitions and summaries from a wide range of online dictionaries and encyclopedias by searching the Summon discovery service using the box below.
Search Credo Reference
Use Credo Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference works.
Search Oxford Reference
Use Oxford Reference to search across multiple dictionaries and reference titles, including bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, Italian, and Latin. If you are off-campus, you may need to log-in to view your search results.