It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Politics and international relations: E-resources
A guide to finding information in politics and international relations. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Details of journal articles, books and conference papers, including citation data, with extensive subject coverage of politics and international relations, 1996 onwards.
Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.
It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.
Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:
-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history
Details of article content and citation counts for social science disciplinary journals, including key politics and international relations titles, 1970 onwards.
Includes: Anthropology; History; Industrial relations; Law ; Linguistics; Philosophy; Political science ; Psychology and psychiatry; Public health; Social issues; Social work; Sociology; Urban studies; Women's studies.
If you are on campus you will be able to access most e-journals and e-books, and some databases, without entering a username and password because your IP address identifies you as being at the University of Reading.
For any that require a login, see the Off-campus tab.
When you are off-campus you will need to login to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals.
Your login details
You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. firstname.lastname@example.org) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication. For more information see:
For most resources, if you follow a link from our website or catalogues your login will be picked up automatically or you will be prompted to login straightaway.
If you access resources via another route you will need to look for a login option once you reach the resource you are trying to access. Look for an institutional or shibboleth login option and pick 'University of Reading' from a list of institutions. This will then pick up your login or prompt you to login. For more information about institutional login, please see the link below:
This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.
If you are unable to view these videos on YouTube they are also available on YuJa or Stream (University username and password required):
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive source of video material including 70,000 titles with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programmes, newsreels and more. Use the Alexander Street link for the best browsing experience.
Academic Video Online comprises some of the following channels:
-60 Minutes: 1997-2014
-The March of Time
-World Newsreels Online 1929-1966
Articles in business magazines, journals and trade publications, some from 1886 onwards, plus regional economic studies and country reports.
Coverage includes: accounting; banking; finance; international business; management; marketing; real estate; regional studies; sales; trade; and technology.
To see a list of the full-text journals select the Title list option from the EBSCOhost home page. Also includes references to articles in many other journals.
Also includes: books/monographs; case studies; conference proceedings; country economic reports; over 5,000 company records; industry reports; market research reports; SWOT analysis; and working papers.
Full-text scholarly essays on the thinking and culture of significant writers and periods, including political philosophers such as Aristotle, Milll, Locke and Nozick.
Over 2,800 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions series.
Provides cross-searchable introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods in the subject areas of literature, philosophy, classics, religion and cultural studies.
Full-text digital archive of a range of British newspapers and news magazines, including The Times, The Sunday Times, The Economist and The Financial Times.
The following databases are included in the search facility:
- Daily Mail Digital Archive
- The Economist Historical Archive
- Financial Times Historical Archive
- The Independent Digital Archive
- Punch Historical Archive
- The Times & The Sunday Times Digital Archives
- The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Help and guidance
Once logged in to Gale Newsvault click on the 'Help' link for comprehensive guidance on using this resource.
Full-text of over many local, regional and national newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper.
The following collections can be searched together or separately:
Canadian Newsstream - over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, some dating back to the late 1970s
International Newsstream - covers over 660 of the world's top newspapers including the following key titles:
The Financial Times (1996 onwards)
The Guardian (1996 onwards)
The New York Times (1980 onwards)
The Observer (1995 onwards)
The Telegraph (2006 onwards)
Wall Street Journal (1984 onwards)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian and The Observer - The complete digital edition of The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) containing full facsimile images of specific articles or complete pages.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post - The complete digital edition of The Washington Post (1877-2004) containing full facsimile images of specific articles or complete pages.
US Newsstream - includes the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.