LibGuides: UoRM Psychology: Websites

General psychology-related sites

COGPRINTS - Cognitive Sciences Eprint Archive
This is an electronic archive for self-archive papers (written by academics) in any area of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science. It is hosted by Southampton University and can be searched by topic or year.
Psychological Research on the Net
This site is produced by the Psychology Department of Hanover College and includes links to known experiments on the internet that are psychologically related. Although Hanover is a US College many of the experiments are from non-US sources including many which are UK based.
Psychology Resources Around the World
This site is produced by the International Union of Psychological Science and lists resources by country and subject
ScienceResearch.com
A portal allowing cross-searching of numerous scientific journals and public science databases.

American Psychological Association - Division 7: Developmental Psychology
This division of the APA promotes research in the field of developmental psychology and high standards in the application of scientific knowledge to educational, child care, policy, and related settings.
Developmental Psychology Links: Social Psychology Network
The Social Psychology Network is supported by the National Science Foundation in the US and is hosted by Wesleyan University. The developmental psychology information contains links related to infancy, adoption, childhood development, child protection, parenting, adolescence, and more.

American Psychological Association - Division 6: Behavioral Neuroscience and Comparative Psychology
Promotes teaching and research in the field of physiological and comparative psychology and provides a forum for psychologists from the sub-disciplines of perception and learning, neuroscience, cognitive psychology, and comparative psychology.
Neurosciences on the Internet
This site lists key neuroscience web sites listed as Best bets and a graphical view of the cutaneous fields of peripheral nerves

American Psychological Association (APA)
Includes information on Books, Conferences, Members' Services and Careers Center. There is a Students Area, although this obviously has an American bias, and there is a listing of all their divisions covering the different aspects of psychology
Association for Psychological Science (APS)
(formerly the American Psychological Society)
Includes information on Conferences, Publications, Job Listings. There is information specifically for Students, for Teachers of Psychology and on joining the Society.
British Psychological Society
The site includes information on psychological topics, as well as information on joining the Society.
Malaysian Association of Psychology Students
A student-led organisation seeking to represent the academic field of Psychology in Malaysia, with scholars, researchers, and academicians as its members.
Malaysian Mental Health Association (MMHA)
A non-profit Non-Government Organisation registered under the Societies Act 1966 MMHA managed by an elected committee of interested persons and professionals in the community, including caregivers of persons living with mental disorders.
Malaysian Psychotherapy Association (MPA)
A registered member of the Federation of Complementary & Natural Medical Associations, Malaysia (FCNMAM), appointed by Traditional and Complementary Medicine Council, Ministry of Health Malaysia as one of the designated practitioner body under the Complementary Medicine Act.

Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:

Authority

Accuracy and reliability

Currency

Audience / relevance

Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!

Feel!

Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides