Covering visual arts in all media from around the world with references to journal articles, monographs, exhibition catalogues and other material.
Archive of journal articles covering most subjects.
Please read the JSTOR terms and conditions of use before accessing JSTOR. You may not download an entire issue of a journal from the JSTOR database or keep multiple electronic or paper copies of any article. You may not alter or distribute any Content, including but not limited to transmission via email to another computer.
References to journal articles in the biomedical sciences. Covers 1950 to the present day. Includes 'In press' articles.
Our Inter-Library Loans service can get articles, books and other publications not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).
For more information see our webpages:
If you are on campus you will be able to access most e-journals and e-books, and some databases, without entering a username and password because your IP address identifies you as being at the University of Reading.
For any that require a login, see the Off-campus tab.
When you use our e-resources you are agreeing to our Terms of Use. Please take a moment to look at these by following the link below:
When you are off-campus you will need to login to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals.
Your login details
You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. ab123456@student.reading.ac.uk) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication. For more information see:
Watch this short video on how you login to use Library resources.
This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.
Arts in Health: Designing and Researching Interventions by 
Creativity in the Classroom by 
Handbook of Arts-Based Research by 
Handbook of the Arts in Qualitative Research by 
Healing Arts: the History of Art Therapy by 
An Introduction to Art Therapy Research by 
Research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research approaches by 
The SAGE Handbook of Visual Research Methods by 
