LibGuides: Boost your academic profile: After Acceptance

Archiving

Congratulations, your output has been accepted for publication!

There is one very important thing to do now to make sure that you comply with university, funder and REF policies on Open Access.

Deposit the author-accepted manuscript in the University of Reading's institutional repository, CentAUR, as soon as possible after acceptance.

The CentAUR team will make sure that you have sent the correct version of your output and will check the publisher's policies on open access. It may be that your output may not be available to download from the repository for up to two years depending on the publisher's embargo. However, by making sure that the output is in the repository, you will fulfill your funder's policies on open access and your output should comply with the open access requirements for submissions to the next Research Excellence Framework exercise (REF 2021).

CentAUR is not just a compliance tool for authors. Each month, thousands of readers from across the world access the content in CentAUR and download the manuscripts. This can be a vital way for researchers without access to a well-resourced library to access the latest research. The access and download statistics for CentAUR are posted on the Open Research at Reading Blog each month.

Add your publications to CentAUR
A quick guide on how to add your publications to CentAUR
CentAUR
Policy on depositing research outputs in the Institutional Repository, CentAUR
The purpose of the repository is to increase the visibility, accessibility and usage of the University’s published, peer reviewed (and equivalent quality), research outputs, free of charge, via the internet.
Opening Research at Reading blog
A blog from University of Reading about open research/open science

Promotion

There are lots of ways to promote your research and make sure that it reaches a larger audience.

Promotion tips

Link your works in CentAUR to your University staff webpage to increase visibility.
Use social media to drive traffic to your publications. Post on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn etc.
Make sure that you use the DOI of your publication in your post (or a shortened version created via bitly.com, ow.ly or tinyurl.com). This will direct readers to your publication easily and will also let tools like Altmetric and Plum Analytics keep track of any attention.
Blog about your research to encourage ongoing discussion, record a podcast, make a video, or design an infographic.
Find links with current news stories – contact the University Press Office on pressoffice@reading.ac.uk as soon as a news story emerges.
Edit relevant Wikipedia pages, inserting text and references to your research.
Promote associated outputs such as research data or software code. Cite them by DOI or other unique identifiers.
Organise a conference for major outputs – contact the University Events Team on events@reading.ac.uk
Add the details of your latest publication to your email signature
If you are given an sharing link by a publisher (for example Share Links from Elsevier, SharedIt from Springer Nature), make sure that you use it to let others in your subject area access your research.
Investigate tools such as Kudos that help authors to share their research by writing an accessible summary of their research to help you reach a wider audience.

Advice from Elsevier on how to get your research noticed
Practical tips from Publisher Elsevier on how to publicise and promote your research
Grow Kudos
A free tool that helps researchers publicise their research by writing accessible summaries
Video tour of Kudos and how you can use this tool to publicise your research
A short video with information on how to share your research articles using GrowKudos
Ten ways to promote your research from Cambridge University Press
A short video that gives some ideas on how to promote your research
Top tips on promoting your research article from Wiley
How to maximise the attention to your article according to Wiley publishers

Sharing

Sharing your work can make sure that as many people as possible see and read your outputs

Upload permitted versions to Academia.edu, ResearchGate or Mendeley – and tag with keywords.
Send PDFs of your article to your peer network (if allowed by your publisher) – don’t assume they will see it in a journal.
Use shareable links provided by the publisher to disseminate your paper to your peers.
Include links to your latest publications in your email signature.

Share your research legally

Most publishers have details on how you can share your work on their websites. - see below for some useful links to publisher sites.
There's also a useful tool, howcanishareit that will tell you what permissions you have to share an article based on the doi.

How can i share it?
A tool for finding publishers' policies on sharing scholarly outputs.
Elsevier's sharing policy
Guidelines on how authors and others can share Elsevier journal articles legally.
Taylor and Francis sharing policies
A guide to sharing Taylor and Francis journal articles legally
Wiley's article sharing policy
A guide to sharing content from Wiley journals legally

Sharing your work infographic (Taylor & Francis)
An infographic showing how authors can share their works published in Taylor & Francis journals (June 2018). Used under a CC BY-NC 2016 from Taylor
& Francis Group
Wiley Article Sharing Guidelines
A quick guide to how you can share your journal articles published by Wiley (June 2018)

Tracking attention and impact

After your research output is published, you'll want to track attention to it from your peers and possibly from the general public (depending on what type of research you are working on).

Immediate impact
To track immediate impact, you can use tools such as Altmetric Explorer and Plum Analytics (via Scopus). These tools pick up attention from social media and news platforms. Your publisher may also show downloads and views of your article on the journal website.

Longer term impact
For longer term impact, tracking citations to your work can be interesting. Citations are often used as a measure of a researcher's or institution's impact and are often part of international league tables.
Track citations to your research outputs via tools such as Google Scholar, Web of Science, Scopus, or Dimensions. If someone is citing you, they may be interested in your next paper.
If your output has been added to an institutional repository, such as CentAUR, you can also track downloads of your work from the repository.

Altmetric Explorer
Altmetric Explorer can help you to track the attention that research output has received following publication
more...less...
For help in interpreting and using the data in your CV or grant application, contact the Research Publications Adviser
PlumX metrics in Scopus
Find out more about PlumX metrics in the Scopus database

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Scopus gives references to peer-reviewed literature in all subject areas. It includes journal articles (including 'in press' items), books, conference proceedings and patents.

It is possible to search for topics, authors (including by ORCID ID), author affiliation and funders.

Extensive analytical tools also allow you to:

-analyse your search results by year, source, author, affiliation, country or territory, document type and subject area
-compare journal impact to help you decide where to publish
-see the citation impact and scholarly community engagement for an article
-analyse the citation trend for any given article, set of results or for a list of author documents
-view an author profile to analyse and track an individual's citation history

Help and guidance
Scopus Quick Reference Guide (PDF)
Tutorial of creating alerts
Scopus learn & support site
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Use to search across a number of databases covering a range of subject areas. Provides references to journal articles, books, conference papers, patents, research data and other materials.
Web of Science gives access to a range of databases which can be searched individually or simultaneously:

-BIOSIS Previews - biological sciences
-Current Contents Connect
-Data Citation Index - research data from international repositories
-Derwent Innovations Index - patents in engineering
-FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts)
-Medline - biomedical sciences
-Web of Science Core Collection - made up of the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Citation Indexes, plus a number of other databases

The cross-search also includes open access journals and open archive repositories.

Also available via Web of Science:

-JCR (Journal Citation Reports)

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal

Dimensions
Dimensions bibliographic database

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Set up a Google Scholar profile to publicise your research outputs and obtain citation counts.
It is unclear which publishers are included in Google Scholar, so it shouldn't be used as your only source for a comprehensive literature search. For references to reliable, academic sources search our Summon discovery service or databases covering your subject.

Link to our full-text
You can set your preferences on Google Scholar to show links to full-text articles in all of our e-journals.

1) Click on the three lines on the top left of the home screen.
2) Select 'Settings'.
3) Select 'Library Links' on the left of the screen.
4) In the search box type 'Reading' and select the 'Reading University Library - Full-Text @ Reading' option.
5) Save your settings.

When you do a search, look for a 'Full-Text @ Reading' link to the right of references in your results list. This indicates that we have a subscription which will give you access to the article. Click on this link to access the full-text.

If the 'Full-text @ Reading' link does not appear next to a reference it indicates that it isn't covered by our subscriptions and you probably won't be able to access the article.

If you are off-campus you will need to login to access the articles. You will usually be prompted to login as soon as you click on the link to the article. If this doesn't happen you will need to look for an institutional or Shibboleth login link once you reach the journal's website. For more guidance see Accessing e-journals.

Google Scholar Button
Google have produced a plugin for Chrome, Firefox and Safari which allows you to easily search for and cite articles. Highlight the title of an article in the page you are reading and then click the Scholar button and it will search for the article on Google Scholar in a pop up window. To get a formatted reference for a search result press the quote button next to it and the reference will appear in three different styles.

To make the most of this tool set up the University of Reading as a 'Library Link' using the instructions above.

CentAUR
Find out how many times your output has been downloaded from the CentAUR repository (if you have a full text uploaded),

Boost your academic profile: After Acceptance

Output accepted for publication - what next?

Archiving

Promotion

Sharing

Tracking attention and impact