Full-text articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
Journal articles, newspapers, dissertations and market research reports in many subjects, but especially business and management.
References to articles in journals published by Emerald, plus full-text access to articles in over 150 titles.
Gives references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters in subjects including anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
Online access to features and articles published in the Financial Times. Covers 1996 to the present day.
Access to all journal articles published by Sage from 1999 to the present. Reference details only for earlier articles.
Gives references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings and patents in all subjects. Also offers extensive tools to analyse results, and measure impact for articles, journals and authors.
Gives references to journal articles in the social sciences.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Social Sciences Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
Provides an extensive collection of business intelligence, combining Gale reference content with respected business sources and full-text periodicals to help researchers understand today's global business environment.
Orbis Europe is a database containing financial information on over 13 million public and private companies covering around 40 European countries. You can search for specific companies, companies that match a profile and compare peer companies.
This resource replaces Amadeus from December 2022.
Our subscription entitles us access to companies described as Very Large and Large. See description below
Global company and industry information.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
A comprehensive, global database of banks' financial statements, ratings and intelligence.
A database of listed companies, banks and insurance companies worldwide.
This resource replaces Osiris from December 2022.
Our subscription entitles us access to companies described as Very Large. See description below
Contains information about mergers and acquisitions, IPO and venture capital deals with links to financial company information.
This resource replaces Zephyr from December 2022.
Global company and industry information.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Provides expert global market and brand analysis.
Registration with Gartner is required, subject to Gartner's Privacy Policy
Provides consumer and market research reports.
When accessing Mintel you may reach a screen that asks for the Client/Campus login. Please select the 'Login here' option next to 'Need federated login?'. You will be directed to the University Single Sign on page, please log in as normal.
Market data and reports for industries, countries and consumers.
Please be aware that the first time you use the service you will need to create an account, which requires information about your full name and course.
Many NHS Trusts have their own Library services and have access to their own resources which you may be eligible to use. They can help you to register for an NHS Athens login. There is a link below for the Royal Berkshire NHS Trust library, but for students from other NHS Trusts, please use the HLISD directory (link below) to find your service. Once you have an NHS Athens account you will then be able to make full use their Knowledge and Library Hub for literature searching and accessing resources. Even without the login you can search, but you won't be able to access the full resources via the Hub.
Annual reports are good sources of data about companies including financial information. As well as using the company information databases (see relevant tab), most companies have their own web sites and display their annual reports. There are three major sites that provide information on annual reports.
A multidisciplinary database containing references to journal articles covering all subject areas from 1990 onwards. Browse specific journal issues to keep up-to-date with articles published in journals of interest.
Essentially a vast Library catalogue. Gives references to books, theses, and other published materials in all subjects.
Access to over 2,500 business case studies covering a wide range of topics and industries, as well as leading global brands and companies.
Full-text articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
References to articles in journals published by Emerald, plus full-text access to articles in over 150 titles.
Journal articles, newspapers, dissertations and market research reports in many subjects, but especially business and management.
You will need to login using your University email address and password to view the video. For the best experience please view on a larger screen such as a tablet or laptop instead of a mobile phone.
How to run a basic search in Orbis and FAME:
Creating a list of companies in Orbis and FAME:
D&B Hoover - basic searches:
Market research information databases:
IBISworld basic search:
Mintel reports basic search:
Among the best sources for researching markets in other countries are those produced by the Department of Trade & Industry (UK) and the State Department (USA).
Full-text articles in business magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
