Video, image and sound - individual collections - Finding video, image and sound resources

Video, image and sound - individual resources

Academic Video Online on Alexander Street [video] This link opens in a new window
Video material including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programmes and newsreels covering a variety of events and themes.
We also have access to Academic Video Online on ProQuest

Academic Video Online is a comprehensive source of video material including 70,000 titles with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programmes, newsreels and more. Use the Alexander Street link for the best browsing experience.

Academic Video Online comprises some of the following channels:

-60 Minutes: 1997-2014
-American History
-Black Studies
-LGBT Studies
-The March of Time
-World History
-World Newsreels Online 1929-1966

Some of subjects covered are:

-Art & Architecture
-Criminal Justice & Public Safety
-Drama
-Education
-Engineering
-Environmental Studies
-History
-Literature
-Politics & Current Affairs
-Psychology
-Science
-Theatre

Help and guidance
Alexander Street Press resources help

How you may use the content
Permitted

-lecture presentations
-Blackboard - embed the video in your module or link to it
-student work

Tip! You may make clips and playlists with the videos

Not permitted

-publicly available websites
-public display in University
-any alteration, adaption or modification the video
Box of Broadcasts [video & audio] This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a collection of TV and radio programmes from free-to-air channels. Set new recordings and playback programmes already recorded. Content back to 1990s.
Record and view TV and radio programmes from over 75 free-to-airchannels and access an archive of over 2 million programmes from the 1990s to the present day. Includes content from:
- BBC TV and radio
- ITV
- Channel 4
- Film4
- Sky Arts
-1 0 foreign language channels (Italian, French and German)
- BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s

Use tools within BoB to create innovative and engaging learning materials to support teaching and learning;
- Create playlists, clips and clip compilations
- Embed content in BlackBoard and use in lectures
- Find programmes and clips on your topic by searching across programme transcripts and subtitles

How you may use the content

Permitted:
- lecture presentations
- Blackboard
- Create clips
- Embed in student coursework - provided it is within BlackBoard

Tip! Acknowledge the source and title of the programme and the ERA licensing scheme - see text under each video on BoB.

Not permitted:
- using BoB from outside the UK
- downloading or copying the videos - they are for streaming only
- publicly available websites
- public display in University
- any alteration, adaption or modification of the video or audio (except creating clips)
- promotional materials

Help and guidance
BoB video tutorials - including videos on using embed codes and using BoB videos in PowerPoint

Have a look at the BoB Frequently Asked Questions

Recommended browsers for BoB are Internet Explorer 11, Edge 12, Mozilla Firefox 44, Safari 8, Google Chrome 48 - or later versions of any of these browsers.

How to embed BoB videos in BlackBoard [PDF]

Tip! Each clip has a citation which you can copy.

British Pathé [video, image & sound]
A collection of 85,000 cinema newsreels from British Pathé showing global culture, historical events and news available via Youtube

Drama Online [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Play texts and performances - including the National Theatre collection, containing 30 filmed performances from the venue
The Drama Online collection features full-text plays and supporting critical and contextual material relating to works from the classical era to the present day.

The collection features:

-theatre lists of Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare, and Faber and Faber
-production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum and The American Shakespeare Center
-Nick Hern Books collection of plays, screenplays and theatre books
-Shakespeare and Early Modern Drama Videos - covering key plays and acting techniques, including Maxine Peake’s Hamlet, Stage on Screen, and a Shakespeare Acting Masterclass from Patsy Rodenburg
-Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015): 21 films recorded live on the Globe stage
-Playwrights Canada Press: plays from established and emerging Canadian playwrights
-National Theatre collection
-Oberon Books collection of plays

Featured writers include: Aeschylus, Euripides, Sophocles, Shakespeare, Ibsen, Chekhov, Bertolt Brecht, Oscar Wilde, and modern classics from Tom Stoppard, Caryl Churchill, Alan Ayckbourn, Mark Ravenhill, Brian Friel, John Osborne, Christopher Hampton, Alan Bennett, Willy Russell and David Hare.

New writing is also represented with works from Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble and theatre companies such as Complicité and Filter.

All titles are listed on the Library catalogue

Help and Guidance
Video tours to help with making the most of this resource are available via the Drama Online YouTube channel.

Europeana [video, image & sound]
Digitised collection of video, images and sound on European cultural history.

Kanopy [video] This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of films for the arts & humanities.
Use the Browse feature to search by subject or genre, or the search bar at the top of the page to look for a film by title.

Help and guidance
Help using the Kanopy site

How you may use the content
You may only use the content for educational purposes.

Permitted
-lecture presentations
-creating clips and playlists
-embedding clips or films in BlackBoard
-embedding in student coursework

Not permitted
-downloading or copying the videos - they are for streaming only
-public display in the University
-any alteration, adaption or modification of the video or audio (except creating clips)
Screenonline [images] This link opens in a new window
Video clips from film and television history illustrating twentieth century British social history

Voices of Science
Video and audio clips from the British Library exploring life stories in environmental science, British technology and engineering from 1940 to the present

Bridgeman images
Available via Credo Reference, a collection of historical images including artworks, architecture, sculpture, illustrations, artefacts and portraits of historical figures (University username and password required)
Tip! Use the "Search within this title" search box to find images in this collection

Britannica ImageQuest [images] This link opens in a new window
ImageQuest is a high resolution image library of over 2.7 million images which are rights-cleared for academic use from various collections including National Geographic, Getty Images, National History Museum and more.
How you may use the content
Images are for Educational use only and must be displayed with the copyright owner details shown under the image.

Permitted:
- lecture presentations
- printed course materials
- Blackboard
- student work
Tip! Use the citing tool with each image to create a citation in your chosen style

Not permitted:
- on a publicly accessible website
- on public display in the University

Help and guidance
The quick product tour shows how to search for images, download them and create personalised albums.

British Cartoon Archive (BCA)
Dedicated collection of British editorial, socio-political and pocket cartoon artwork.
British Library Flickr account
Millions of public domain images from the British Library collection to explore and re-use
Europeana [video, image & sound]
Digitised collection of video, images and sound on European cultural history.
Getty Open content
A collection of images of public domain artworks in Getty’s collections, including more than 114,000 high-resolution images which are free to use, modify, and publish for any purpose.

John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera [images] This link opens in a new window
Archive of printed ephemera.
This archive of printed ephemera contains digitised documents, including posters and handbills for theatrical and non-theatrical entertainments, broadsides relating to murders and executions, book and journal prospectuses, popular topographical prints, and a wealth of different kinds of printed advertising material.

The material covers 5 different categories: nineteenth century entertainment; the book trade; popular prints; crime; murder and execution; and advertising .

On completion of the project there will be 65,000 digitised documents.

The original collection is held by the Bodleian Library. Information about the Bodleian's John Johnson Collection

Help and guidance
For help within the platform, click on the question mark icon in the bottom right-hand corner.
JSTOR Global Plants [full-text & images] This link opens in a new window
Collections from more than 270 herbaria from around the globe.
Herbaria preserve plant type specimens that are used for the study of botany, ecology, and other plant science disciplines.

It includes:

-plant type specimens
-taxonomic structures
-scientific literature
-paintings and drawings
-correspondence

The materials include contributions from 47 countries on 5 continents. Key titles include:

-Curtis's Botanical Magazine
-The Useful Plants of West Tropical Africa
-Latin American Plants Collection
-Africans Plants Collection

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
The museum provides Open Access for Scholarly Content. This means any of the images in their collection marked OASC may be used, free of charge, for any scholarly work. Please see the FAQs on the website for further information.

Picture Post Historical Archive 1938-1957 [full-text] This link opens in a new window
Search across Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 to find full colour digitised versions of the originals.
Search this resource simultaneously with other archive collections on Gale Primary Sources.

Help and guidance
Once logged in to the Archive click on the 'Help' link for comprehensive guidance.
ScienceDirect [full-text] This link opens in a new window
You can choose to search for the figures and tables from articles in this full text database. Select the images option in the quick search
Covering sciences, economic and social science, and some arts and humanities titles.

We also have access to older articles from 1896 onwards in the following subjects:

-agricultural and biological sciences
-economics, econometrics and finance
-environmental science
-social sciences

Help and guidance
ScienceDirect help
Screenonline [images] This link opens in a new window
Images and encyclopedia entries on film and television history illustrating twentieth century British social history

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS)
Image database of visual arts collections comprising over 100,000 images which are freely available and copyright-cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK. Collections include: African and Asian artists; Design and Romanesque Sculpture in Britain; the Tom Eckersley Archive and the Imperial War Museum collections.

Box of Broadcasts [video & audio] This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) is a collection of TV and radio programmes from free-to-air channels. Set new recordings and playback programmes already recorded. Content back to 1990s.
Record and view TV and radio programmes from over 75 free-to-airchannels and access an archive of over 2 million programmes from the 1990s to the present day. Includes content from:
- BBC TV and radio
- ITV
- Channel 4
- Film4
- Sky Arts
-1 0 foreign language channels (Italian, French and German)
- BBC Shakespeare Archive content dating back to the 1950s

Use tools within BoB to create innovative and engaging learning materials to support teaching and learning;
- Create playlists, clips and clip compilations
- Embed content in BlackBoard and use in lectures
- Find programmes and clips on your topic by searching across programme transcripts and subtitles

How you may use the content

Permitted:
- lecture presentations
- Blackboard
- Create clips
- Embed in student coursework - provided it is within BlackBoard

Tip! Acknowledge the source and title of the programme and the ERA licensing scheme - see text under each video on BoB.

Not permitted:
- using BoB from outside the UK
- downloading or copying the videos - they are for streaming only
- publicly available websites
- public display in University
- any alteration, adaption or modification of the video or audio (except creating clips)
- promotional materials

Help and guidance
BoB video tutorials - including videos on using embed codes and using BoB videos in PowerPoint

Have a look at the BoB Frequently Asked Questions

Recommended browsers for BoB are Internet Explorer 11, Edge 12, Mozilla Firefox 44, Safari 8, Google Chrome 48 - or later versions of any of these browsers.

How to embed BoB videos in BlackBoard [PDF]

Tip! Each clip has a citation which you can copy.
British Library Sounds [sound] This link opens in a new window
Music, spoken word, and human and natural environments - over 50,000 sound recordings from the British Library Sound Archive.
Covers:
- Accents and dialects
- Art and literature
- Classical music
- Nature and environment
- Popular music, including jazz
- Oral history
- Sound recording history
- Society and family
- World and traditional music
- World events
- Work and industry

You may use the sound recordings for teaching, learning and research, but please refer to the Copyright and Usage box on each individual recording to see how you are permitted to use that recording.

For help and more information see the How to use the Sounds website page.

Europeana [video, image & sound]
Digitised collection of video, images and sound on European cultural history.
iTunes U
iTunesU is an an app for your mobile device which lets you listen to clips from lectures on a variety of academic subjects from Universities around the world.

London Broadcasting Company / Independent Radio News audio archive [sound] This link opens in a new window
Audio files of recordings relating to news and current affairs from 1973 to the mid-1990s.
The London Broadcasting Company / Independent Radio News audio archive consists of approximately 80,000 individual audio files of recordings relating to news and current affairs from 1973 to the mid-1990s. These clips have been digitised from the 7000 hours of reel-to-reel tapes in the full archive collection as part of a JISC funded programme. Recordings are from a wide range of broadcasts, including coverage of the Falklands war, the miners' strike, Northern Ireland, the whole of the Thatcher period of government and recordings of the first hour of UK commercial radio including the first commercial radio news bulletin.

How you may use this content
Members of the University are allowed to listen to the audio clips online and download them to use in teaching and learning.

Permitted

-lecture presentations
-blackboard - Tip! You may only link to the audio on the LBC/IRN website, do not download and embed the audio
-student work

Not permitted

-publicly available websites
-public display in University

Voices of Science
Video and audio clips from the British Library exploring life stories in environmental science, British technology and engineering from 1940 to the present

Find physical video, image and sound in the Library

The Library also has DVDs, audio CDs and other multimedia materials. They are shelved with the books and arranged by subject using Call Numbers and most of them can be borrowed. Search the Enterprise catalogue for DVDs, audio CDs, kits and visual materials.

Tip! Use the Format limit options on the right hand side of the screen after you do your keyword search