Research data management: Useful links

The University's Statement on Open Research. It includes links to 12 things you can do to be open, and Open Research case studies.

An overview of research services provided by DTS, including computing platforms, data storage, project websites, cPanel database websites, and advice and consultancy services.

REIO provides support to academics applying for research funding. Your Research Development Manager should advise you if a data management plan (DMP) is required as part of a grant application and ensure that the Research Data Manager reviews your DMP before submission.

Research Contracts provides support for research agreements, including collaboration, partnership and studentship agreements, and agreements for the use of secondary data. It may be necessary to check a research contract prior to making data available, to establish who has ownership of data and whether any notice of intended publication must be given to other parties.

This guide to managing personal data in research includes a Data Protection Checklist for researchers, which should be used when planning any research involving the processing of personal data. Also here you can find a sample information sheet and consent form, and a Data Protection Impact Assessment form, which may need to be completed for research involving higher-risk personal data processing.

Policies to be aware of, especially where research involves processing of personal/confidential data: the Data Protection, Information Security, Classification, Remote Working, Bring Your Own Device and Encryption policies.

Information about the University and School Research Ethics Committees and how to apply for ethical approval to carry out research involving human subjects.

Includes the University's Code of Practice on Intellectual Property and support for all aspects of intellectual property management.

This is a standard comprehensive general-purpose DMP template, which can also be found as the DCC template in DMPonline.

An online tool to assist you in creating a DMP. DMPonline includes a general-purpose template (the DCC template) and funder-specific templates with tailored guidance and examples to help you write your data management plan.

A registry of data and metadata standards, data repositories that implement or recommend the standards, and data policies. A key FAIR data resource.

A global registry of research data repositories, searchable by subject, content type and country.

Use this tool to select a Creative Commons licence with the correct mix of permissions for your dataset. The tool will generate the correct licence statement and marking which can be included in the dataset.

A tool to help you choose an Open Source software licence

This DCC resource provides links to information about disciplinary metadata standards, including profiles, tools to implement the standards, and use cases of data repositories currently implementing them.

Summaries of key UK research funders' data policies, with links through to policies.

A searchable registry of research funders' Open Access policies, including data archiving policy details.

The UKRI Common principles on research data provide an overarching framework for individual Research Council data policies.

Data Training Engaging End-users (Data Tree) is a free online course in data management aimed at research students and early career researchers in the environmental sciences. It includes eight modules covering data management, data analysis, and using data to engage with end users of research.

This interactive online game takes the form of a choose-your-own-adventure story, and provides a fun way of learning about research data management.

This MOOC provides a comprehensive in-depth introduction to research data management and sharing.

This online course provides a series of short modules that introduce key research data management concepts and practices.

The UK Data Service provides excellent guidance on research data management. It is geared towards social scientists, but much will be relevant to all disciplines. Guidance on legal and ethical issues relating to participant-based research (e.g. consent and anonymisation) is especially useful.

The Digital Curation Centre (DCC) is an internationally-recognised centre of expertise in digital curation with a focus on building capability and skills for research data management. The DCC provides expert advice and practical help to research organisations wanting to store, manage, protect and share digital research data.

The Research Data Alliance is an international organization with the goal of building the social and technical infrastructure to enable open sharing and re-use of data. It accomplishes its work through a variety of working groups and interest groups with a variety of remits, both general and discipline-specific. Individual membership is free.

The Society of Resarch Softweare Engineering works to increase software skills across everyone in research, to promote collaboration between researchers and software experts, and to support the creation of an academic career path for Research Software Engineers.

The SSI is a national facility for cultivating and improving research software, which provides lots of guidance on good practice and useful resources.