Chemistry: Home

SciFinder is a key resource for chemistry-related research. Use it to find substance and reaction information and literature. Specifically you can use it to: identify a chemical substance and its related chemical structures; find chemical names, find regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®; find reaction schemes; and view step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields. It gives references to journal articles and patents.

Also useful for researching in related areas such as: agricultural science; biomedical sciences; engineering; food; geological sciences; materials science; medical sciences; and physics.

More about SciFinder 

Help and guidance
SciFinder support and training

Includes:

-Beilstein Database - covers organic chemistry from 1771 to date. Based on Beilstein's Handbuch der organischen Chemie. It contains over 8.2 million structures, 10 million reactions (making it the world's largest reactions database), 20 million property records and 50 million hyperlinks. It also gives references to journal articles from 1980- present including abstracts and links to full text for articles Reading readers are entitled to access.

-Gmelin Database - covers inorganic and organometallic compounds from 1772 to (presently) 1995. It contains all the structural, factual, and bibliographic data cited in the Gmelin Handbuch der anorganischen Chemie. The database currently comprises over 1.5 million compounds, including glasses, alloys, ceramics, minerals and coordination compounds, and 1.3 million reactions.

-Patent Chemistry Database - Organic chemistry and life science patents from US (since 1976), World and European patent publications (since 1978).

Help and guidance
Help using Reaxys is available via the Reaxys Support Centre, and there are also training videos available.

Web of Science gives access to a range of databases which can be searched individually or simultaneously:

-BIOSIS Previews - biological sciences
-Current Contents Connect
-Data Citation Index - research data from international repositories
-Derwent Innovations Index - patents in engineering
-FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts) 
-Medline - biomedical sciences
-Web of Science Core Collection - made up of the Arts and Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Citation Indexes, plus a number of other databases

The cross-search also includes open access journals and open archive repositories.

Also available via Web of Science:

-JCR (Journal Citation Reports) 

Help and guidance
Web of Science Training Portal