Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below.
See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!
General Clinical language sciences-related sites
Centre for Speech and Language Intervention Research
This research centre, based at UCL, focuses on the practical implementation of research and the website contains links to practical resources.
NHS Evidence Health Information Resources
The mission of this digital library (formerly the National Library for Health) 'is to provide clinicians with access to the best current know-how and knowledge to support healthcare-related decisions'. Includes The Cochrane Library.
The Linguist List
A site dedicated to providing information on language and linguistics, it contains over 2000 pages listing resources and links. It also runs a mailing list which provides a forum for exchange of information and discussion.
A portal allowing cross-searching of numerous scientific journals and public science databases.
WWW Virtual Library - Medicine & Health
(includes psychology and disability resources)
Part of the WWW Virtual Library, which is made up of a large number of subject sections compiled by volunteers expert in their subject areas.
Organisations and institutions
Tips on evaluating websites
Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:
- Who is responsible for the page/site?
- Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
- Can you trust them?
Accuracy and reliability
- Is the information correct?
- Is the grammar and spelling correct?
- Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
- Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
- Is the information fact or opinion?
- Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
- Is it regularly updated?
- You don't want to quote out-of-date information
Audience / relevance
- Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!
- Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
- Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
- If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides
Guides and tutorials
Hints on assessing the reliability of information you find on the Internet.
A brief guide to finding information which includes links to the main search engines.