Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below.
See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!
Computer science websites
Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
A searchable and growing collection of full text articles.
Academic Info Computer Science and Electrical Engineering
Subject information gateways forming part of Academic Info, a directory of Internet resources tailored to a higher education audience. Each subject guide is an annotated listing of the best general Internet sites in the field, as well as a gateway to more advanced research tools. Includes links to online publications, language and study aids, reference materials, database archives, virtual libraries, tutorials, as well as other educational materials. It is compiled in the United States.
Galaxy: Engineering and Technology
Galaxy is a subject based searchable Internet directory compiled by human Internet Librarians. The engineering and technology page contains an organised list of links divided into categories such as materials science and engineering ethics.
Help Site Computer Manuals
This is a website providing free access to online computer manuals, documents and links to other sites on all operating systems including DOS, Unix, Linux, Windows, Mac, and others.
Software Engineering Resources
This is a good site by R.S. Pressman and Associates Inc. which presents a fairly comprehensive selection of printed and electronic sources in software engineering covering the software process, software engineering practice, web engineering, managing software projects, an Engineering Glossary and more.
Site giving access to all Cambridge University Engineering Department databooks
Large collection of free downloadable non-peer reviewed scholarly articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
dblp: computer science bibliography
Open bibliographic information on major computer science journals and proceedings. Supports computer science researchers by providing free access to high-quality bibliographic meta-data and links to the electronic editions of publications.
Academic Info - Artificial Intelligence
For a general description see Academic info under Key sites. This section includes links to some full text e-journals.
Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
The Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) is a non-profit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behaviour and their embodiment in machines. As a service to its members and the international AI community, AAAI provides links to AI Resources Pages.
American Society for Cybernetics
The ASC is dedicated to advancement in the field of cybernetics. Their homepage contains many cybernetics-related links and a lot of useful information.
Principia Cybernetica Web
An international research group which is based at the Free University of Brussels. It looks at the philosophy and theory of cybernetics and also has a useful reference section including links to an electronic library with free books, a web dictionary of cybernetics and systems, related websites and bibliographies, associations, and journals.
http://LPR Robotics publications
A collection of references to articles published by members of the Laboratory for Perceptual Robotics at the University of Massachusetts from 1985 onwards, many of which have full-text available.
British Computer Society
Details of joining the BCS are available and the site has many other features of interest to computer scientists, including professional development.
The Cybernetics Society
The Cybernetics Society is a professional body promoting pure and applied cybernetics. The website provides information about scientific meetings, conferences, social events and other activities designed to promote an understanding of cybernetics and its associated disciplines. There is also a regularly updated news page.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Through its members, the IEEE is a catalyst for technological innovation and a leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, among others. The IEEE is a not-for-profit association and has more than 330,000 individual members in 150 countries. This site provides information about IEEE publications, activities, conferences and careers.
The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)
Formerly the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE), the IET represents the public, professional and educational interest of over 140,000 electrical, electronic and manufacturing engineers world-wide. Key activities include publishing, conference organisation, the maintenance of technical standards, interaction with government departments and the provision of scientific and technical information services. This site provides information about IET membership, activities, publishing, policy, news and is fully searchable.
How to write a paper
University of Cambridge guide on how to write technical reports and scientific papers
Tips on evaluating websites
Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:
- Who is responsible for the page/site?
- Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
- Can you trust them?
Accuracy and reliability
- Is the information correct?
- Is the grammar and spelling correct?
- Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
- Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
- Is the information fact or opinion?
- Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
- Is it regularly updated?
- You don't want to quote out-of-date information
Audience / relevance
- Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!
- Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
- Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
- If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides