Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below.
See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!
The virtual library for economics and business. It offers you research in internet resources, online catalogues and full texts online and it provides access to information services of libraries. Allows you to search many sources simultaneously.
RFE (Resources for Economists on the Internet)
This is a major gateway to economics information online, edited by Bill Goffe. The site is sponsored by the American Economic Association, listing over 1500 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections. Provides descriptions of most resources. RFE is part of the WWW Virtual Library for Economics (along with WebEc).
General economics-related websites
British Library of Political and Economic Science
(library for London School of Economics) The Library collects material on a worldwide basis, in all major European languages. The collections total over four million items, including 31,000 past and present journal titles. The Library subscribes to approximately 3000 e-journals, just part of its electronic information provision. Please check access for visitors.
Economist Intelligence Unit Country analysis
Access the Economist Intelligence Unit's latest data, analysis and forecasts for 187 countries and its Global Forecasting Service. Access is free but you are required to register first.
German National Library of Economics (ZBW)
The German National Library of Economics (ZBW) is also the library of the Kiel Institute for World Economics and the world’s largest library for economic literature. Access to the collections of over two million books is through the online catalogue, ECONIS.
Working papers / Discussion papers / Research papers
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
RePEc is a collaborative effort to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. All RePEc material is freely available. Please note that RePEc does not contain full-text journal articles; RePEc services provide links to many full-text articles, but you may need a personal or institutional subscription to follow those links. If a working paper or journal article is not indicated as "downloadable", please contact the author or publisher for assistance.
Organisations and institutions
Guides and tutorials
Hints on assessing the reliability of information you find on the Internet.
A brief guide to finding information which includes links to the main search engines.
Tips on evaluating websites
Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:
- Who is responsible for the page/site?
- Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
- Can you trust them?
Accuracy and reliability
- Is the information correct?
- Is the grammar and spelling correct?
- Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
- Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
- Is the information fact or opinion?
- Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
- Is it regularly updated?
- You don't want to quote out-of-date information
Audience / relevance
- Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!
- Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
- Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
- If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides