Journal articles are useful because they can provide up-to-date research in your subject, and reviews of developments in your subject - these review articles include extensive lists of references
There are several methods for finding relevant journals and journal articles on your dissertation topic, these include
As a first step, search the Summon discovery service for relevant articles from e-resources subscribed to by the Library, which are available in full text for you to view online or download.
Bear in mind that searching Summon will only provide you with results taken from e-resources that the University subscribes to.
For a wider overview of articles on yur research topic, you should also make use of subject-specific bibliographic databases, like Screen Studies Collection or the MLA Bibliography, or the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Although the University may not subscribe to all the journals listed in these bibliographies, if there is a particular article you would like for your research which we don't have in stock, make use of our inter-library loans service to obtain a copy.
Useful tip: If you find an article which is particularly pertinent to your topic, use the references given within the article to find further material, the same as you would a bibliography at the end of a book.
Gives references, and some full-text access, to sources relating to film and television.
References to published materials in the arts and humanities including journal articles, letters, editorials and reviews.
This database is part of the Web of Science Core Collection. To search just this part select 'Arts & Humanities Citation Index' from the 'Editions' drop down list.
References to publications covering literature, language, linguistics and folklore worldwide.
We subscribe to a wide range of journals relevant to English and American Literature
Finding journals by title
Search the Enterprise catalogue to find journal titles held by the Library (in print or online).
Finding journals by topic
You can either search by title or, if you are looking for journal covering a particular topic., e.g. 'film criticism' or 'Shakespeare', you can search Enterprise using relevant keywords and then refine your results using the left hand menu to only show 'Journals' by clicking on the Journals link.
If your topic is very specific you may find that this method of searching is not as effective as searching for journal articles.
Just a few of the Library's journal titles related to Shakespeare and film are listed below.
Our Inter-Library Loans service can get articles, books and other publications not held at Reading from other libraries (usually from the British Library).
For more information see our webpages: