It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Museum studies: E-resources
A guide to finding information in museum studies. Includes links to key resources and sources of help.
Covering visual arts in all media from around the world with references to journal articles, monographs, exhibition catalogues and other material.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) / Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) covers visual arts in all media including:
- traditional fine arts (painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture)
- decorative and applied arts
- material culture
- photography and contemporary new media
- visual arts aspects of performing arts
It includes European art from late Antiquity to the present; American art from the European arrival to the present and Christian and European art in Africa, Asia, and Australia.
- Bibliography of the History of Art (1990-2007)
- Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (1975-1989)
Online access to the entirety of the Loeb Classical Library, with texts from 700 B.C to 700 A.D.
-A duel language interface, with the Greek and Latin texts shown alongside the English translation.
-The ability to search for key words in texts.
-The ability to annotate works and create bookmarks for later use once you have created an individual account.
The Jacoby is a standard collection of and commentary on the fragments of 856 Greek historians whose works have survived only in fragmentary form.
Felix Jacoby's Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker (FGrHist), or shortened as the 'Jacoby', was first published between the 1920's and late 1950's.
Jacoby Online completely supersedes the traditional 18-volume set known to classical scholars. It contains:
- many updated Greek texts
- English translations of all of the Greek testimonia and fragments
- a new critical commentary on the texts (and for the first time commentary on those texts that Jacoby did not complete before his death)
- new authors and fragments not in FGrHist.
Updated twice yearly. Hosted on the Brill Scholarly Editions platform.
The Patrologia Graeca (Patrologiae Cursus Completus. Series Graeca) is an edited collection of writings in the Greek language. This link leads to an index of downloadable PDFs of all 161 volumes from the Google Books project.
At the core of Trismegistos is Trismegistos Texts, which provides information about all published and semi-published texts from Egypt and the Nile valley, between roughly BC 800 and 800 AD, not only in Greek, Latin, and Egyptian, but also in Meroitic, Aramaic, Arabic, Nabataean, Carian, and other languages. In addition to Trismegistos Texts, it comprises a number of other sections including, Collections, Archives, People and Places.
Limited to one simultaneous user.
Upon logging in you will be granted a two hour long session. This will renew automatically if you are still using the service, otherwise the session will finish at the end of the two hours. No other users will be able to access the service during this time. If you are unable to access the service, please try again later.
Help and guidance
For help using this resource login as above and then click one of the two links under the main search box on the Trismegistos website. These contain information on how to use the database and how to cite it.
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive source of video material including 70,000 titles with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programmes, newsreels and more. Use the Alexander Street link for the best browsing experience.
Academic Video Online comprises some of the following channels:
-60 Minutes: 1997-2014
-The March of Time
-World Newsreels Online 1929-1966
Full-text articles on all aspects of the ancient world, including: persons, places, institutions, events, artefacts, technical terms, ideas and concepts, interaction between Greek and Roman culture and the neighbouring Semitic, Celtic and Germanic cultures.
Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and black-and white photographs
Pauly Online includes the entire text of Metzler's Der Neue Pauly and also all volumes of the English language Brill's New Pauly. We also have online access to the following supplements:
- Chronologies of the ancient world: Names, dates and dynasties
- Dictionary of Greek and Latin authors and texts
- Historical atlas of the ancient world
- The reception of myth and mythology
- The reception of Classical literature
- History of Classical scholarship - a biographical dictionary
Introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods in the subject areas of literature, philosophy, classics, religion and cultural studies.
Over 2,800 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions series.
Provides cross-searchable introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods in the subject areas of literature, philosophy, classics, religion and cultural studies.
Provides access to over 300 volumes published in the Cambridge Histories series since 1960, including the Cambridge ancient history.
Provides full-text access to over 300 volumes published in the Cambridge Histories series since 1960. Subjects range across the humanities and include:
- American history
- British history
- Economic history
- General history
- History of science
- Language and literature
- Literary studies
- Political and social theory
- Regional history
- Theatre studies and performing arts
Plays and supporting critical and contextual material relating to works from the classical era to the present day. The collection features the theatre lists of Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare and Faber and Faber, as well as production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum and The American Shakespeare Center. Also available are plays, screen plays and theatrebooks from Nick Hern Books; Playwrights Canada Press, a collection of plays by emerging and established Canadian playwrights; plays from the Oberon Books collection; Shakespeare and Early Modern Drama Videos covering key plays and acting techniques; and the National Theatre collection, containing 30 filmed performances from the venue.
The Drama Online collection features full-text plays and supporting critical and contextual material relating to works from the classical era to the present day.
The collection features:
-theatre lists of Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare, and Faber and Faber
-production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum and The American Shakespeare Center
-Nick Hern Books collection of plays, screenplays and theatre books
-Shakespeare and Early Modern Drama Videos - covering key plays and acting techniques, including Maxine Peake’s Hamlet, Stage on Screen, and a Shakespeare Acting Masterclass from Patsy Rodenburg
-Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015): 21 films recorded live on the Globe stage
-Playwrights Canada Press: plays from established and emerging Canadian playwrights
-National Theatre collection
-Oberon Books collection of plays
Featured writers include: Aeschylus, Euripides, Sophocles, Shakespeare, Ibsen, Chekhov, Bertolt Brecht, Oscar Wilde, and modern classics from Tom Stoppard, Caryl Churchill, Alan Ayckbourn, Mark Ravenhill, Brian Friel, John Osborne, Christopher Hampton, Alan Bennett, Willy Russell and David Hare.
New writing is also represented with works from Polly Stenham, Katori Hall, D.C. Moore, James Graham, Rebecca Lenkiewicz and Lucy Prebble and theatre companies such as Complicité and Filter.
Bibliography of literature, language, linguistics and folklore worldwide; gives references and abstracts to journal articles, monographs, working papers, bibliographies, etc, from 1963 up to the most recent issues.
MLA (Modern Language Association International Bibliography) covers literature, language, linguistics and folklore worldwide.
Gives references to journal articles, monographs, working papers, conference proceedings, indexes and bibliographies, etc.
Searches across three databases: FIAF, which provides references to journal articles, FII, an international index of films, and the catalogue of the American Film Institute.
Search simultaneously across the following databases:
-FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database - Gives references to journal articles and access to the full-text of several journals. Also includes information about holdings of silent films in international film archives, and a directory of film and tv collections held by institutions worldwide.
-Film Index International (FII) – International index of films from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters. Gives biographical information for almost 57,000 personalities. Also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists. References to published reviews and articles about individual films are also included within the records.
-AFI Catalog - The American Film Institute's catalogue is a comprehensive filmography of American films from 1893 to 1974, with records for selected major films from 1975-2008. New records are added each year by the AFI’s editorial team. Useful for identifying sources and reviews.
A multidisciplinary database containing references to journal articles covering all subject areas from 1990 onwards. Browse specific journal issues to keep up-to-date with articles published in journals of interest.
Google Scholar is the academic version of Google. It allows you to search for scholarly literature (journal articles, books, patents) from a variety of sources, including academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories.
Link to our full-text
You can set your preferences on Google Scholar to show links to full-text articles in all of our e-journals.
1) Click on the three lines on the top left of the home screen.
2) Select 'Settings'.
3) Select 'Library Links' on the left of the screen.
4) In the search box type 'Reading' and select the 'Reading University Library - Full-Text @ Reading' option.
5) Save your settings.
When you do a search, look for a 'Full-Text @ Reading' link to the right of references in your results list. This indicates that we have a subscription which will give you access to the article. Click on this link to access the full-text.
If the 'Full-text @ Reading' link does not appear next to a reference it indicates that it isn't covered by our subscriptions and you probably won't be able to access the article.
If you are off-campus you will need to login to access the articles. You will usually be prompted to login as soon as you click on the link to the article. If this doesn't happen you will need to look for an institutional or Shibboleth login link once you reach the journal's website. For more guidance see Accessing e-journals.
Google Scholar Button
Google have produced a plugin for Chrome, Firefox and Safari which allows you to easily search for and cite articles. Highlight the title of an article in the page you are reading and then click the Scholar button and it will search for the article on Google Scholar in a pop up window. To get a formatted reference for a search result press the quote button next to it and the reference will appear in three different styles.
To make the most of this tool set up the University of Reading as a 'Library Link' using the instructions above.
Essentially a vast Library catalogue. Gives references to books, theses, and other published materials in all subjects.
Covers ca.1000 BC to the present.
Create your search
Videos: doing your literature search
This playlist of two videos shows you how to prepare for and perform a literature search. The first video introduces literature searches and their role. The second video covers using the search operators AND and OR to create a search statement, and explains the role of wildcards and truncation in constructing a comprehensive search. This information is also available in written guides - see the links below.
If you are unable to view these videos on YouTube they are also available on YuJa or Stream (University username and password required):
If you are on campus you will be able to access most e-journals and e-books, and some databases, without entering a username and password because your IP address identifies you as being at the University of Reading.
For any that require a login, see the Off-campus tab.
When you are off-campus you will need to login to identify yourself as a member of the University of Reading to gain access to our protected databases, e-books and e-journals.
Your login details
You login in the same way as for Blackboard - via Microsoft. Just enter your University username followed by @student.reading.ac.uk (e.g. email@example.com) and your password. If this is the first time you have logged in via this method when off-campus you will be asked to complete a Multi-Factor Authentication. For more information see:
For most resources, if you follow a link from our website or catalogues your login will be picked up automatically or you will be prompted to login straightaway.
If you access resources via another route you will need to look for a login option once you reach the resource you are trying to access. Look for an institutional or shibboleth login option and pick 'University of Reading' from a list of institutions. This will then pick up your login or prompt you to login. For more information about institutional login, please see the link below: