Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There is a huge amount of information on the Internet but the quality is variable. Some reliable sources are suggested below.
See also the tips and suggestions to help you evaluate what's good and what's not!
General psychology-related sites
COGPRINTS - Cognitive Sciences Eprint Archive
This is an electronic archive for self-archive papers (written by academics) in any area of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science. It is hosted by Southampton University and can be searched by topic or year.
Psychological Research on the Net
This site is produced by the Psychology Department of Hanover College and includes links to known experiments on the internet that are psychologically related. Although Hanover is a US College many of the experiments are from non-US sources including many which are UK based.
A portal allowing cross-searching of numerous scientific journals and public science databases.
Organisations & institutions
American Psychological Association (APA)
Includes information on Books, Conferences, Members' Services and Careers Center. There is a Students Area, although this obviously has an American bias, and there is a listing of all their divisions covering the different aspects of psychology
Association for Psychological Science (APS)
(formerly the American Psychological Society)
Includes information on Conferences, Publications, Job Listings. There is information specifically for Students, for Teachers of Psychology and on joining the Society.
British Psychological Society
The site contains information about Psychological Society Regional Groups in the UK, all BPS Publications, a wealth of Careers information specific to the UK and information on joining the Society.
Tips on evaluating websites
Before believing the information given on a web site, or quoting it in your essay or project, think about the following:
- Who is responsible for the page/site?
- Is it a reliable organisation (eg a well known university) or a subject expert?
- Can you trust them?
Accuracy and reliability
- Is the information correct?
- Is the grammar and spelling correct?
- Is it complete, or are they just giving one point of view?
- Do they have their own agenda eg political organisations?
- Is the information fact or opinion?
- Can you tell how up-to-date it is?
- Is it regularly updated?
- You don't want to quote out-of-date information
Audience / relevance
- Is the information of the right level to be quoted in your project? If it is aimed at the general public or school children it might not be!
- Is the site well structured and easy to navigate?
- Are the links from the page up-to-date and valid?
- If it is well designed and maintained then you can feel more confident about the information it provides
Guides and tutorials
A brief guide to finding information which includes links to the main search engines.